Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Lonely Are The Brave
August 2008
Released: 2008, Frontiers Records/Zink Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Finally, this years most anticipated release has arrived. It’s the brand new studio album LONELY ARE THE BRAVE from the best singer ever from Norway Jorn Lande. His latest CD released have been re-releases, a double live release as well as a cover album so a brand new studio album has been at the top of my wish list for a long time now. His last studio album, THE DUKE, was released in 2006 and since then a new member stepped into the band in bass player Sid Ringsby. LONELY ARE THE BRAVE is Jorn’s fifth solo album and if the last one was a masterpiece this one isn’t far behind.

Jorn stills exhibits the same strong and powerful voice that sounds very much like David Coverdale and Ronnie James Dio. Jorn keeps on delivering the same old excellent classical heavy hardrock jammed with twin guitar duels and the music has a lot in common with Masterplan, Dio, Black Sabbath, Rainbow and Whitesnake.

The album treats us with 9 mind blowing tracks and it’s almost impossible to pick out any favorite track. This man has never let me down and this album is no exception. There are a few songs that don’t feel as solid as the rest of the material however that doesn’t matter so much when I have so many other brilliant songs to listen to.

Killer tracks are “Lonely Are The Brave”, “War Of The World” and “Shadow People” those songs are classic hardrock tunes that are influenced by heavy metal. The songs are technical and very complex. Jorn shows why he clearly is one of the best singers in the world and almost all of the songs have catchy choruses. Then we have “Night City” and “Soul of the Wind” which are a little slower but just as heavy as the rest of the songs. These songs have Whitesnake influences and Jorn sounds a lot like Coverdale in these songs. “Hellfire” is a more grinding metal song that also has a slow pace but is still heavy. Unfortunately, this song is one of those who didn’t really make it. I had hoped for a little stronger slower song.

The infamous Tommy Hansen at Jailhouse Studio in Denmark did the production and he has built up a solid and massive wall of guitars for the rest of the instruments to follow. It’s a totally brilliant production but after all it is Hansen, one of the best producers around at the moment.

Jorn delivers what he does the best but unluckily there are some weaker songs that drag down the rating a notch. Jorn is still Jorn and almost everything he does is brilliant. Jorn says that he plans going out on tour this summer, let’s pray that’s true.
Track Listing

Lonely Are The Brave
Night City
War Of The World
Shadow People
Soul Of The Wind
Man Of The Dark
The Inner Road


Jorn Lande – lead vocals
Tore Moren – guitar
Jorn Viggo Lofstad – guitar
Sid Ringsby – bass
Willy Bendiksen – drums

Next review: » Jorn - Out To Every Nation
Previous review: » Jorn - Live In Black

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.