Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Ion Vein
IV 1.0
February 2012
Released: 2012, Independent
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Despite the fact that they’ve been around since 1994, Chicago’s Ion Vein have been quiet for a long time now, their last release was 2003’s sophomore album REIGNING MEMORIES. Starting with this promo, 2012 looks to be a busy one for the band, as they’re planning the release of their third album and as much ensuing touring as possible.

As I said, IV V1.0 is a taster from the band’s forthcoming album, showing off three new songs. The promo starts with the thunderous “Enough”, a mid-paced pounder led by guitarist Chris Lotesto’s manly-man riff style (think a less power metal, not-triplet obsessed Iced Earth). Scott Featherstone’s vocals are similarly barrel-chested, leading the bands charge with a more than capable growl. “Love/Hate” picks up the pace with a more speedy attack, but very much in the same style as the first song. Finally, “Anger Inside” starts with some quiet dynamics before erupting into the catchiest riff offered on the promo, even if the lyrics are a bit trite.

All told, these three songs were perfectly chosen to whet the appetite for the band’s new album. If you want solid, kick ass heavy metal with no frills, Ion Vein will satisfy.
Track Listing

1. Enough
2. Love/Hate
3. Anger Inside


Scott Featherstone: Vocals
Chris Lotesto: Guitar
Rob Such: Bass
Chuck White: Drums

Other reviews

» IV 1.0
by Waspman

» Ion Vein
by Waspman

Next review: » Iota - Tales
Previous review: » Ion Vein - Ion Vein

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.