Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Inner Terror
Behold the Inner Terror
April 2010
Released: 2010, Self Released
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Originally recording and performing under the name Axemaster since the ‘80s, Inner Terror has its roots firmly planted in traditional metal and early thrash. BEHOLD THE INNER TERROR is the self released debut from the band under their new moniker, and the 12 tunes on the CD harkens back to a time when metal didn’t have a bunch of genre labels, a time when it was just HEAVY.

The good – Inner Terror doesn’t make any pretenses to be something that they’re not. What you see is what you get, and what you get is 4 dudes who appear to really enjoy playing metal. The songs themselves are pretty standard 80s power thrash. The songs have plenty of crunch and melody and vocalist Dan Kaisk reminds me a lot o Sacred Reich vocalist Phil Rind, so they get extra bonus points for that.

The not so good – the band never breaks out of their mid-tempo purgatory. Each song feels like it has the same time signatures, the same vocal cadences, the same pacing, etc…I kept waiting for the band to break out of that box and let loose a little bit, but it just never happened. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that the songs are necessarily bad, but listening to the CD from start to finish, it was tough to discern one song from the next.

Inner Terror sounds like a band that still has a lot to offer and I’m sure there are plenty of fans who will listen to this CD and think I’m nuts. BEHOLD THE INNER TERROR is a good debut from a band that’s watched the metal scene evolve, and who are happy with their place in that scene. A good release that could have been great, BEHOLD THE INNER TERROR should be available through the band’s website by the time you read this.
Track Listing

1.Eternal Darkness
2.Behold the Inner Terror
3.Unresting Place
4.Techno Slave
5.Your Life
6.Self Human Genocide
7.The Perfect Killing Machine
9.The Mark
10.Harder they Fall
12.Winds of Death


Dan Kaisk - Vocals
Joe Sims - Guitar
Jim Curtis - Bass
Brian Henderson - Drums

Other reviews

» Behold the Inner Terror
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Inner Wish - No Turning Back
Previous review: » Inner Shrine - Pulsar

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.