Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

December 2004
Released: 2001, NEMS
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Year-end wrap-up: Each of the last few years to wrap up the year I have picked a theme for my reviews for December. This year due to the overwhelming number of CD’s that deserve exposure, recognition and commentary I am going to resort to quantity over quality. I usually try to give as much attention to each CD with extensive commentary however this month’s reviews (perhaps unfortunately) will be short and sweet and much more in the style of traditional magazine reviews where space restrictions are an important factor. (ie. Less detail) I apologize in advance to readers who expect much more detailed reviews. Please check the reviews archives as many of my colleagues have written excellent detailed commentary of many of these CD’s. I hope the large number of quick comments will help guide you making some of those important year-end CD purchase decisions. Happy Holidays and see you in January. JP

I expected more form this all-star project. Beto Vazquez assembled some of the finest talent in the current metal scene in that reads like a killer line-up but at times the songs and production don’t do the CD justice. Beto recruited members of Edenbridge, Nightwish, Stratovarius, Rhapsody and four other lesser-known bands. The centerpiece is a five song, mini-suite called ‘Voyagers of Time’. The music is as perhaps expected progressive metal with a few hints of power combined with some symphonic elements but nothing particularly aggressive. It is quite a lush and elaborate CD but suffers from a lack of dynamics in the song-writing area. I’ve listened to it many times and nothing sticks unlike comparable projects like Avantasia, Aina and Ayreon. Nice packaging with lyrics and so on. Maybe it deserves a remix to clear up the slightly muted and muddy production. If this was remixed and reissued with new art this could be a globally recognized winner instead of a regional curio from Argentina.
Track Listing

1. Until Dawn (Angels of Light)
2. Wizard
3. The Battle Of The Past
4. Sadness In The Night

Voyagers of Time

5. Tough Times I
6. Tough Times II
7. Golden Hair
8. Infinity Space
9. Tough Times III

10. The Laws of The Future
Promises Under The Rain


Beto Vazquez-Bass
Gonzola Iglesias-Guitar
Danilo Moschen-?
Marcelo Ponce-drums
Lilah Bertolini-Flute

Special guests

Fabio Lione
Sabine Edelsbacher
Jorg Michael
Candice Night
Tarja Turunen



Next review: » Infinity Overture - The Infinity Overture Part 1
Previous review: » Infinity - Existence

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.