Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Infinitus Mortus
The Conspiracy Of Love
February 2013
Released: 2012, Independent
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

I was quite pleased to get the second Infinitus Mortus album in the mail and since we survived 2012 (a bit of a theme of their debut album) I’m pleased we are all still there and the band have released their next album. This New Jersey band has released THE CONSPIRACY OF LOVE. The band, in case you missed my review of the debut, is a bit odd in terms of formation with four members with Steve doing basically everything except sing. We have two vocalists presenting a nice male-female counter-point style and Rebecca handles writing the lyrics. Speaking of lyrics, the songs have a theme of love, loss and betrayal which can border dangerously close to emo territory but love and it’s many facets, both good and bad, is a universal topic so it works well enough. The presentation is decent; a nice album cover, pictures of the band and so forth.

This is one of the rare instances in my experience where the production on the debut is better than the follow-up! The drums sound so triggered and mechanical. There is no excuse in this day and age with options of A) real drums or B) programs that sample real drums, hit by hit, tom by tom, cymbal by cymbal. To get pre-programmed, digital drums out of the can is unacceptable! The bass drums are way too fast. I never thought I would hear myself say that but for the atmospheric, symphonic Metal of the songs, the cyber-quality double-kick drums do not need to be so fast. The rest of the production is good, nice guitar tone, a good mix, the vocals up-front, but the drums needed work.

Musically, THE CONSPIRACY OF LOVE is as good or better then 2012. The eleven-track album runs just under an hour and they deliver some excellent symphonic Metal. To my ears the album is a bit ballad intensive and I would have changed up the running order a bit. I maybe would have sequenced the album a bit differently with the more crushing tracks like ‘One With The System’ being higher in the track list. As mentioned the juxtaposed vocal dynamic of Vincent and Caitlan work really well on the record. to my ears Caitlan is a bit of a stronger singer than the previous vocalist, Tara perhaps but both are excellent at delivery the lyrics with sincerity and conviction.

It’s not too often that a New Jersey area band adopts this very European sound, symphonic Power Metal sound, but this young band does a fine job. I feel with a bigger budget, some experience and a producer to really bring out the individual performances on these strong songs, Infinitus Mortus stand a good chance in making it to the big leagues.
Track Listing

1. Heart of Stone
2. Plain Hearts
3. Love Is Not
4. Un-Happy Ever After
5. Dissolve
6. Beauty, Lust, a Fake Love
7. One with the System
8. Your Sin
9. Love Song
10. Dance of Seduction
11. Black Wings


Vincent James Vocals
Caitlin Meehan Vocals
Rebecca Lyrics
Steve Guitars, Keyboards, Bass, Drums

Other reviews

» 2012
by JP

» The Conspiracy Of Love
by JP

Next review: » Infinity - Existence
Previous review: » Infinitus Mortus - 2012

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.