Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Infinita Symphonia
A Mind's Chronicle
February 2012
Released: 2011, End Of The Light Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Erich

Here is a unique debut from Italian metal band, Infinita Symphonia. Released in August, 2011 I have only recently gotten hold of it, courtesy of End Of The Light Records. Some high praise has already been heaped on this band and it is warranted. Formed in 2008, the band employs strong elements of symphonic power metal, but with a decided modern edge. Sure there are some elements of Rhapsody of Fire, but there also aspects of Nevermore and Iced Earth. The combination of styles gives A MIND’S CHRONICLE an immediacy and sense of purpose.

After a brief, and expected somber intro, cleverly titled “Intro(Verted)” the next track “Lost In My Own Brain” delivers a heavy dose of crushing guitar as Luca Micioni gives a worthy James Labrie impression. One impressive quality of the album is the sequencing of the tracks, with “The Illusion” proving to be a sophisticated ballad that provides a nice stylistic change, and one where Micioni really hits some high notes in a tone not that dissimilar to Bruce Dickinson in his prime. Musically, the band is equal parts aggressive, melodic, and technical, capable of incorporating complex and progressive pieces within each song. Listen to the beginning of “Here There’s No Why” to hear the progressive leanings, particularly in the keyboards. Lest I forget, there are some heavyweight guest appearances on here worth mentioning, with Tim “Ripper” Owens adding inspiring vocals to “Only One Reason” and Fabio Lione capably contributing vocals to “Here There’s No Why”.

A few minor complaints would be that the extended length of the album keeps a few tracks from resonating, and by the time you hit the second half of the album the songs start to sound the same, proof that the full measure of the band has at that point been taken. All things considered, I am impressed because this is after all a debut, and it is reasonable to assume that these guys are only going to get even better. Production is bright and well balanced, although the drums seem to lack some punch and the bass is practically indistinguishable from the wall of guitar, which along with Micioni’s voice are the showcases features. Fans of Labyrinth, Rhapsody of Fire and symphonic power metal in general will find much to appreciate on this promising new debut.
Track Listing

01) Intro(verted)

02) Lost in My Own Brain

03) Mighty Storm

04) The Illusion

05) Planet Universe

06) Here There's No Why (feat. Fabio Lione)

07) Only One Reason (feat. Tim "Ripper" Owens)

08) Lost And Found

09) From Earth To Heaven

10) The Equation of The End

11) I Believe in You


Luca Micioni - Vocals
Gianmarco Ricasoli - Guitar
Diego Deola - Guitar
Alberto De Felice - Bass
Luca Ciccotti - Drums
Claudio Metalli - Keyboards

Other reviews

Next review: » Infinita Symphonia - Infinita Symphonia
Previous review: » InfiNight - The Vision

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.