Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

In Twilight's Embrace
July 2016
Released: 2016, Arachnophobia Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

Poland's In Twilight's Embrace follow up last year's full-length The Grim Muse – and indeed mark its vinyl reissue - with this surprisingly eclectic three-song EP.

The opening track, “Laughing Stock, A Burning Stake” is fairly typical of the At The Gates-style melodic death metal that predominated on The Grim Muse, with its gnashing, punchy riffs, barking vocals and locomotive tempo. “Into the Mouth of Madness” starts out that way as well, but things take a black metally left turn about midway through as the riffs grow shrill and furious and Cyprian Łakomy's vocals get increasingly feral. The song then takes another abrupt turn with its acoustic conclusion, which is a perfect lead in to the cover of Polish punk rock oddballs Armia’s “Opowieść Zimowa” that rounds out the EP.

Blending buzz-sawing electric and acoustic guitars, a galloping, Western-style beat and a more earnest, yet still urgent delivery, it has an almost punk-folk sensibility to it. It sounds a bit like the old Alarm, except for when Łakomy’s vocals grow gruffer for a couple verses.

Still, it's not quite what one would expect from a group of melodic death metallers. Then again, neither is the Marduk-like black metal blast off on “Madness.” So despite encompassing only three songs, Trembling accomplishes quite a bit.
Track Listing

1. Laughing Stock, A Burning Stake
2. Into the Mouth of Madness
3. Opowieść Zimowa


Cyprian Łakomy - vocals
Leszek Szlenk - guitars
Marcin Rybicki - guitars
Wojciech Skinder - bass
Dawid Bytnar - drums

Other reviews

» Trembling
by Peter Atkinson

Next review: » In Twilight’s Embrace - The Grim Muse
Previous review: » In Torment - Sphere of Metaphysical Incarnations

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.