Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

In Flames
December 2016
Released: 2016, Nuclear Blast Records
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

It's been two years since Sweden's In Flames released a studio album. This year they are back with Battles. Since their last album, Siren Charms, they have a roster change, a new drummer, Joe Rickard. They announced that this would be something different from their last album and it is.

The album features 12 songs which different tempos, different heaviness different vocal style. That way you don't know what to expect from the next track coming on your playlist. It features, great solos, heavy riffs, slow steady parts of instrumentals making you just enjoy this peace of music.

The changing vocals of well-known Anders give you an element of surprise on every next part of the song. Once he is screaming, the next moment he is whispering in the microphone, the next time there is a growl. The guitars with sometimes clean, sometimes distorted tones, mix with the headbanging drum rhythm and bass lines. The occasional solos that appear are just a proof of what In Flames can actually do.

The awesome thing about the mixing of the album is the fact that one song might make you punch down the wall next to you, and the next can calm you down in a split second, but then the upcoming song raises you up again. There is a very good balance between the aggression and the little calmness in the album.

All in all, In Flames kept their promise of a something new, something different from the last album, but still keeping their tone and their sound, like the famous In Flames sounds!

Review by Kire Jovanovski
Track Listing

1. Drained
2. The End
3. Like Sand
4. The Truth
5.In My Room
6. Before I Fall
7. Through My Eyes
8. Battles
9. Here Until Forever
10. Underneath My Skin
11. Wallflower
12. Save Me


Björn Gelotte- Guitar
Anders Fridén- Vocals
Peter Iwers- Bass
Niclas Engelin- Guitar
Joe Rickard- Drums

Next review: » In Flames - Clayman
Previous review: » In Flames - A Sense of Purpose

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.