Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Worshippers of the Seventh Tyranny
March 2011
Released: 2011, Agonia Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Singaporean chaos mongers Impiety have gained cult status in the metal community as one of the finest exponents from the Singaporean extreme underground metal scene. These extreme metal veterans have been around for 2 decades with various line-ups, putting out several - ´kvlt´ releases that have gone down well for the dedicated and loyal fans of this extreme metal act.

The band´s 7th studio album, somewhat logically titled as WORSHIPPERS OF THE SEVENTH TYRANNY, contains only one track – the title track of the album, but all of its 38 minutes and 32 seconds prove clearly that Impiety obviously wanted to try out something a bit different this time. Making their own version from Venom´s AT WAR WITH SATAN album, perhaps?

When Impiety´s previous album called TERROREIGN (APOCALYPTIC ARMAGEDDON COMMAND) that was also released on Polish Agonia Records in 2009, was full of endless aggression, hostility and killing mentality – putting all speed limits totally upside down and pounding the holy ground with a heavy and merciless crucifix made of a virgin´s skin, the band´s latest record offers a quite different set of musical elements. The music herein ranges from those familiar chaotic high speeds of Impiety to slower passages that kind of remind me of Celtic Frost and even Immolation at times. This 38-minute song is ambitiously constructed – and the new guys in the Impiety ranks, Guh Lu and Eskathon on guitars and Atum on drums, seem to know how Shyaithan (the only original member left from of the band) has wanted Impiety to sound like on this new record. With the many twists and turns that this album has – and whilst demanding listener´s full attention through all 38-or-so minutes, eventually this record turns out be quite a winner in the end.

There´s always a risk to fail badly whenever one starts building up something a bit bigger than one´s ego might ever be. Gladly this is not something that has happened with Impiety´s seventh studio album. Shyaithan´s ego is still teeny-weeny bigger than all the lethal musical arsenal that has been used to build up the main frame for WORSHIPPERS OF THE SEVENTH TYRANNY. Evil demons and goats of Hell are surely very happy to hear this. I for one know now, I was.
Track Listing

01. Worshippers of the Seventh Tyranny


Shyaithan- Vocals and bass
Guh Lu - Guitar
Eskathon - Guitar
Atum - Drums

Fabio Zperandio (Ophiolatry) - Guest guitar solos

Other reviews

Next review: » Impious - Hellucinations
Previous review: » Impiety - Terroreign (Apocalyptic Armageddon Command)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.