Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

National Blasphemy
April 2014
Released: 2014, Independent
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

As we head deeper into 2014, the thrash metal revival continues unabated. What started over a decade ago with the likes of Municipal Waste, Toxic Holocaust, and their ilk is arguably as strong as ever. New bands continue to crop up, one of which is the oddly-named I.C.S. from Bergamo, Italy. Italy, of course, is more known for its power metal than anything else, but I.C.S. proudly flies the thrash flag.

NATIONAL BLASPHEMY is the band’s self-released first album, after a demo release in 2011 called...SEASONS IN THE ASS. Ahem. Anyway, as you can tell from the whimsical front cover, the band falls more onto the humourous side thrash with a certain socio-political theme to some of their lyrics. Musically, they are pure high-speed thrash metal through and through as indicated on the call to arms “Unleash the Thrash” which is, not incidentally, one of the best songs on the album. With that in mind, the band certainly puts their money where their mouth is and thrashes all over high-speed highlights like the title track and “A.N.O.”. Indeed, there really are no outright poor songs on the album – these guys have obviously studied at the feet of their forebears and learned their lessons.

I must admit, the overall package from I.C.S. just reeks of D.I.Y. enthusiasm and it’s damn infectious. You can hear their love of metal in their music, see it in their home-drawn artwork and feel it in every breakdown and riff. I guess in the end it will come down to personal preference and the individual listener picking their favorites from a crop of similar bands, but I.C.S. is definitely a refreshing, exciting presence. Great job guys – I look forward to more!
Track Listing

1. Overrotten Anal Supremacy
2. Erection and Resurrection
3. Unleash the Thrash
4. National Blasphemy
5. A.N.O.
6. Toxichrist
7. Spiritual Dictators
8. You, Cyberwaste
9. Vicious Fog II
10. Foolish Party
11. War, Fire, Destruction


Daniel Battaglia: Vocals, Bass
Fabio Corna: Guitar
Mattia Lazzari: Guitar
Fabio Begnini: Drums



Other reviews

» National Blasphemy
by Waspman

Next review: » Iain Ashley Hersey - The Holy Grail
Previous review: » I.C.O.N. - The Blacklist

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.