Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Horned God
Chaos Bringer of All Revelations
January 2004
Released: 2003, Listenable Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Michael De Los Muertos

Brazil is still very much in the death metal business! That’s the message that emerges crystal-clear from the blood-splattered aural carnage of Horned God’s CHAOS BRINGER OF ALL REVELATIONS. While it may not single-handedly put Brazil back on the map in the same way it was in the early ‘90s, Horned God is definitely a band worth listening to.

CHAOS BRINGER OF REVELATIONS is the band’s second album, the follow-up to 2001’s ABSIT. With a tight, well-versed lineup, including guitarist Fabiano Penna (formerly of Rebaelliun), the band delivers a package of punishing death metal that’s aggressive, fast-paced and full of guitar noodling. Horned God’s sound tends more toward what I call “dry” death metal--similar to the sound of some of the non-melodic Scandinavian death bands--rather than the “wet” sludgey sound of the Morbid Angel school. While guitar lines crackle with kinetic energy, the riffs aren’t quite as up front as they are on many death metal albums. The twin guitarists duel for center stage with a lot of Yngwie-esque arpeggios and what detractors of this style might call “wankery.” There’s a whole mess of guitaring toward the end of “War Goes On,” and various other tracks such as “Calling Upon the Spirits of Knowledge” and the title track, are completely dominated by guitar acrobatics. It’s all very interesting to listen to, but when it continued on too long I got the impression that the guitar work was somewhat detracting from the overall effect of what is otherwise a considerably blistering and hard-hitting assault. Thus my main criticism of Horned God is that, while the guitaring is excellent, it might overall be too much of a good thing. Also, vocalist Erico Pedrosa is not the strongest death metal singer I’ve heard, though I commend the band for avoiding the temptation to do “Cookie Monster vocals.”

Nevertheless, I enjoyed this album. It’s very lively, well-written, well-played and aggressive, and brings back fond memories of the old days of classic tear-it-up death metal bands flashing pentagrams and singing hellish hymns to Lucifer. My favorite tracks on this album are “Satan Isn’t the Enemy of Men” and “March of the Horned Ones.” While I doubt CHAOS BRINGER OF REVELATIONS is going to be a landmark in the death metal genre, it has certainly demonstrated that Horned God is a very competent band worthy of attention. I look forward to hearing their third album, and hopefully seeing them as a driving force in a South American metal revival, something I think the metal world could definitely benefit from.
Track Listing

1. Intro
2. War Goes On
3. The Sheathed Sword
4. Envenomed to Survive
5. Calling Upon the Spirits of Knowledge
6. Chaos, Bringer of All Revelations
7. Satan Isn’t the Enemy of Men
8. Slimy Embrio
9. March of the Horned Ones
10. Blooshed (The Wisdom of Victory)


Erico Pedrosa -- vocals
Hudy Hussui -- guitars
Fabiano Penna -- guitars
Bruno Corréa -- drums



Other reviews

» Chaos Bringer of All Revelations
by Michael De Los Muertos

by Luxi Lahtinen

Previous review: » Horned Almighty - World Of Tombs

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.