Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Winter Songs
January 2010
Released: 2009, Metal God Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

The "Metal God" Rob Halford has released his third disc under the "Halford" moniker; and surprisingly enough, it is a collection of Christmas songs. Some are metal renditions of past Christmas classics and some come in the form of much needed original material (I mean really...How sick is everyone of hearing Jingle Bells this time of year?)

There has been a growing list of hard rock and heavy metal artists releasing Christmas albums or contributing to Christmas themed compilations in the past few years, such as the notable Twisted Sister "A Twisted Christmas" and Eagle Rock Entertainment's "We Wish You A Heavy Christmas" album, but what set's Halford's WINTER SONGS apart from the popular aforementioned albums is a more serious nature and tone to this album. When the Metal God sings "O Holy Night" his rendition is as powerful and moving yet as faithful to the original as you are likely to ever hear. This is not a schlock novelty record by any means.

"Get Into The Spirit" is the album's beefiest track in terms of heaviness, and you will hear Halford's trademark highs come chorus time. I really like this track. Another standout track would be the title track on WINTER SONGS that features a stellar vocal performance from Rob Halford. You also get more originals like the bluesy hard rocker "I Don't Care If It's Christmas Night" and the mellower "Light Of The World" as well as traditonal classics like "Come All Ye Faithful" and "We Three Kings"

I think it's safe to say you won't be listening to this on the fourth of July, but this should prove a worthwhile listen each winter that you can come back to for years to come.
Track Listing

1. Get Into the Spirit
2. We Three Kings
3. Oh Come O Come Emanuel
4. Winter Song
5. What Child Is This
6. Christmas For Everyone
7. I Don't Care If It's Christmas Night
8. Light of the World
9. Oh Holy Night
10. Come All Ye Faithful


Rob Halford - Vocals
Metal Mike Chlasciak - Guitars
Roy "Z." Ramirez - Guitars
Mike Davis - Bass
Bobby Jarzombek - Drums

Next review: » Halfway to Gone - Halfway to Gone
Previous review: » Halford - Winter Songs

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.