Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Hell Within
God Grant Me Vengeance
August 2011
Released: 2011, Thorp Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Originally forming in 1998 in Massachusetts, ‘Hell Within’ were previously named ‘Twytch’, where the band released two demos and two EP’s before changing their name to ‘Hell Within’ in 2002.

The band have since released two full-length albums where they have now gradually built more respect in the world of metal! Although in the ‘metalcore’ genre, the band does have elements of both brutal death and thrash metal. Throughout the album there are strong vocals consisting of ferocious growls and clean vocals, impressive fast drumming & brutality, aswell as great melodic guitar solos. I did enjoy this album but didn’t think it amazing; especially as fans had along wait for this release, and I can’t help thinking I’ve heard it all before. There are alot of similarities on some of the tracks too, although each song does try to bring something different and some are pretty catchy but the album failed to keep my attention throughout. It did pick up towards the end though, especially with the track ‘Eternal Uprising’ which was definitely more ‘death metal’ rather than ‘metalcore’ and thought the vocals were stronger in this track too. I also liked the slow intro to the last track 'Remnants of a Failed Creation' starting with a great guitar intro, but again the song began to sound similar to the others. I definitely enjoyed the music aspect of the album more than the vocals, despite the fact 'J.J. Long' has impressive vocals.

This is a well produced album with great sound and im sure will be enjoyed by many metal fans, I just expected abit more.

Review by Jo Blackened
Track Listing

01. Condemning The Bloodline
02. Lament For The Fallen
03. God Grant Me Vengeance
04. The Rebirth
05. Assembly Of The Locusts
06. Scars In Oblivion
07. Deliverance
08. Interlude
09. Eternal Uprising
10. Remnants Of A Failed Creation
11. Hours Of Decay


J.J. Long - Vocals
Tony Zimmerman - Guitar
Isaias Martinez - Guitar
Derek Jay - Drums
Derek Garabedian – Bass

Other reviews

» Asylum of The Human Predator
by Lord of the Wasteland

» God Grant Me Vengeance
by UK Team

» God Grant Me Vengeance
by UK Team

Next review: » Hellbox - Fleshphemy (EP)
Previous review: » Hell Within - God Grant Me Vengeance

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.