Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Heaven Shall Burn
Deaf To Our Prayers
April 2007
Released: n/a, Century Media
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Arto Lehtinen

The German “brutal attitude metal core or whatever metal now this wanna be called” squad has gained much success within these years. As it is quite obvious a lot of heavy expections have been put on the band’s newest slab.

The 11 track album is kicked off by the tremendous raging and asskicking opening tune “CounterWeight” which was about to blow the loudspeakers up thru the ceiling with double drums and heavy furious guitar riffs roared out and the vocalist Marcus Bischoff literally screamed his lungs out. Frankly the whole album is a pure extreme aggression approach from the beginning to the end. The German five piece has created catchy, but also damn brutal and aggressive riffs. Even though the whole package is based on this kind of fast and furious approach, the catchy melodic riffs have been abandoned. “The Final March” presents more of a melodic side along with “Of No Avail” and of course occasionally blastbeats are offered.

Obviously calling Heaven Shall Burn a metalcore band after this output could be unfair as the band sailed away from that genre quite dramatically even though people keep labelling them for reasons of another. It is sure that the past will haunt them.

As for the producer’s role Jacob Hansen, he has created the ultimate in massive and heavy sounds. To be honest Jacob Hansen has piece by piece become one of the most important producers in metal. Once again Hansen’s magic fingers have been involved in creating the monsterous output by Heaven Shall Burn and the result has turned to be damn brilliant. All the aggression and hate and anger have managed to be captured on the disc.

The new stuff from DEAF TO OUR PRAYERS will definitely cause a ballistic reaction for sure as the whole album is utter aggression as stated above. Freak willing to get more anger and hate, try the new Heaven Shall Burn album.
Track Listing

1. Counterweight
2. Tresspassing The Shores Of Our World
3. Profane Believers
4. Stay The Course
5. The Final March
6. Of No Avail
7. Armia
9. Biogenesis (Undo Creation)
10. Dying In Silence
11. The Greatest Gift Of God


Marcus Bischoff - Vocals
Maik Weichert - Guitar
Eric Bischoff - Bass
Matthias Voigt - Drums
Alexander Dietz - Guitar

Other reviews

» Antigone
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Antigone
by Waspman

» Deaf To Our Prayers
by Arto Lehtinen

» Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)
by Simon Lukic

Next review: » Heaven Shall Burn - Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)
Previous review: » Heaven Shall Burn - Antigone

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.