Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Heaven Shall Burn
June 2004
Released: 2004, Century Media
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Lord of the Wasteland

While German metalcore is something entirely new to me, Heaven Shall Burn have been ripping shit up since 1998 and are apparently quite well known in their homeland. ANTIGONE is their first release on Century Media and it is sure to become a metalcore masterpiece. The riffs are razor-sharp, drumming is relentless and the vocals are of the “swallowed a handful of glass” variety. ANTIGONE takes bits and pieces from European melodic death (At The Gates), American metalcore (God Forbid) and even a bit of Bolt Thrower-infused death. The production of this CD is top-notch, as well. The crunching guitars and pummeling drums never threaten to overtake the vocals and everything is mixed to perfection.

“The Weapon They Fear” is heavy as hell. A cool keyboard/guitar breakdown begins at 2:30 and shows that this band is more than just “chugga-chugga” rhythms and hollering. The thrashy riffs of “The Only Truth,” “Architects Of The Apocalypse,” “Voice Of The Voiceless” and “Bleeding To Death,” coupled with Marcus Bischoff’s vocals and Matthias Voigt’s unrelenting drums, create a true sonic assault of the senses. “Numbing The Pain” is a mid-tempo track and contains a haunting piano outro. “To Harvest The Storm” and “The Dream Is Dead” take on a melodic backing vocal that once again brings a new element to Heaven Shall Burn’s music. Three instrumental tracks comprised solely of violins and a piano further push the band past any claims of being a one-trick pony.

Heaven Shall Burn isn’t really doing anything new, but what they do, they do well. ANTIGONE is a solid metalcore release that will appeal to many fans that are willing to think outside the box.

KILLER KUTS: “The Weapon They Fear,” “The Only Truth,” “To Harvest The Storm”
Track Listing

1. Echoes (Intro)
2. The Weapon They Fear
3. The Only Truth
4. Architects of the Apocalypse
5. Voice of the Voiceless
6. Numbing the Pain
7. To Harvest the Storm
8. Risandi Von (Outro)
9. Bleeding to Death
10. Tree of Freedom
11. The Dream is Dead
12. Deyjandi Von (Outro)
13. Dislocation (Disembodied cover)
14. Not My God (Hate Squad cover)


Marcus Bischoff—Vocals
Maik Weichert—Guitar
Patrick Schleitzer—Guitar
Eric Bischoff—Bass
Matthias Voigt—Drums

Other reviews

» Antigone
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Antigone
by Waspman

» Deaf To Our Prayers
by Arto Lehtinen

» Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)
by Simon Lukic

Next review: » Heaven Shall Burn - Antigone
Previous review: » Heaven Rain - Second Sun

Heaven Shall Burn
August 2004
Released: 2004, Century Media
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

We all know that the current flavor of the month amongst the many slavering metal labels is metalcore. With bands like Shadow’s Fall, God Forbid, Atreyu, and Unearth all being signed by big labels and selling truckload of records (well, lots for a heavy metal band anyway), it seems that any band that comes out playing music that combines Gothenburg melodic death with N.Y. hardcore is immediately signed and thrust upon the public.

Enter Germany’s Heaven Shall Burn. Sho’nuff, the band combines the most typical elements of metalcore, but these guys just happen to have two advantages over the glut of other bands doing this style. First, they’ve been doing it since 1997 and can’t possibly be accused of jumping bandwagons or selling out. Secondly, they are damn good songwriters and have come up with a raft of songs that kicks the living shit out of just about every other band in their genre.

After one of the best intros set to tape, the band lets out what feels like all of their rage in the first song, “Weapon They Fear”. The song immediately gets you thinking that they can’t possibly keep up the pace, or the quality, for the length of the disc, but the band proves that they are up to the task. Although the JESTER RACE-era In Flames worship gets to be a little much at times, the whole of ANTIGONE is vicious and catchy as any record you’re likely to hear this year. In fact, this album makes a sad mockery of just about every other metalcore band in existence. If you are only going to have one metalcore album in your collection, let this be the one.
Track Listing

1) Echoes
2) The Weapon They Fear
3) The Only Truth
4) Architects of the Apocalypse
5) Voice of the Voiceless
6) Numbing the Pain
7) To Harvest the Storm
8) Risandi Von
9) Bleeding to Death
10) Tree of Freedom
11) The Dream is Dead
12) Deyjandi Von
13) Dislocation
14) Not My God


Marcus Bischoff: Vocals
Eric Bischoff: Bass
Mattias Voigt: Drums
Patrick Schleitzer: Guitar
Maik Weichert: Guitar

Other reviews

» Antigone
by Lord of the Wasteland

» Antigone
by Waspman

» Deaf To Our Prayers
by Arto Lehtinen

» Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)
by Simon Lukic

Next review: » Heaven Shall Burn - Deaf To Our Prayers
Previous review: » Heaven Rain - Second Sun

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.