Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

In These Veins
May 2007
Released: 2007, Dental Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

My first meeting with this excellent trio was with their second release back in 2004 called ARMAGEDDON MON AMOUR. Three years later they’re back with their fourth masterpiece. Hearse is still all about ass-kicking, mind-blowing brutal death metal, but this time they have a heavier groove and even sharper and faster guitar parts. It’s also more violent and crazy than before - in other words, genius.

The album’s 9 tracks run by at a furious pace and you almost can’t breathe until the 40 minutes of mayhem are over. Again they have featured a cover song on the album; this time it’s a cover of a song by the Swedish cult rock/punker band Sator called “Crusade (Gonna Start a Fire)”, which they have totally made their own. Besides that, there is a strictly-instrumental track simply called “Hearse”.

The band has really sharpened their claws with this fourth grand opus. The material is absolutely magnificent, and the album is all about extremely skillfully-performed grand compositions. Lead singer Johan Liiva (Arch Enemy, Nonexist) growls his way throughout the album and he shows that he’s still a solid metal singer in every possible way. The guest singer on “Intoxication” is another cult singer within the Swedish punk scene: Jugga from Mob 47.

It’s really hard to pick any killer tracks from this impressive album; all tracks are equally strong and you can’t but be impressed by the high-standard album Hearse has delivered. The legendary Dan Swanö produced the album. Swanö knows, as always, exactly what a production of this caliber ought to contain.

IN THESE VEINS is truly a jackpot in every kind of way and by now it’s time for John Liiva to stop being called the ex-Arch Enemy singer and instead be called the true madman of Hearse. Remember the name Hearse, because I’ll bet we’ll hear much more from this Swedish trio in the future.
Track Listing

1. House of Love
2. Corroding Armor
3. Intoxication
4. Naked Truth
5. Crusade
6. Among the Forlorn
7. Atrocious Recoil
8. Hearse
9. In These Veins


Johan Liiva – lead vocals, guitar
Max Thornell – drums
Mattias Ljung – guitar

Next review: » Heartache - Apophis
Previous review: » Hearse - Armageddon Mon amour

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.