Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

May 2005
Released: 2005, Frontiers Records/Atenzia Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Headrush is a new band/project whose background info can be found on their website at Guitar hero Alessandro De Rosso entered the international scene in 95 when he released his self titled album in both Europe and Japan. Jumping to 2002, Alessandro replaced John Norum on Dokken's ongoing European tour. The other band leader in Headrush is the well known Roberto Tiranti from Labyrinth. Labyrinth together with Rhapsody are two of the Italian bands that first broke through the international metal scene in '96-'97. Along with Alessandro and Roberto, the band consits of Dave on drums and Mauro on bass.

The music of Headrush is somewhat harder, melodic hard rock with a focus on Alessandros brilliant and well played guitar playing. Along with with Robertos lead vocals, those two have the biggest part of the soundpicture. Keyboards and programming are used but luckily not to a great extent. Even if they have placed themselves in the harder line of the melodic hard rock genre, they haven’t forgotten to feature some ballads as well such as “Catch 22”, “Get off the dime”, “Silence” and “’Til I know” are pure ballads.

Headrush debuts with a 12 track album that’s filled with great music, and fortunately are the lyrics not all about love, a tired and constant theme in this genre. I’ve never been overly impressed by Roberto's voice, especially not when he sings in Labyrinth. In Headrush he shows a voice with a broad range and remarkable feeling. Of course Alessandro impresses big time, but what’s new with that? I can totally understand that he’s been called a guitar hero in the bio and I can also understand why Dokken wanted Alessandro to be part of their line-up. Mauro and Dave backs up this gentlemen's perfectly with a stable and firm foundation.

Alessandro has also produced this debut. He has managed to create a production that leaves a lot of space for his guitar playing and Robertos magical voice. He’s done a terrific job with the production and if he ever gets tired of playing he can always become a full time producer.

Favorite tracks are the melodic hard rock “My world”, “Not just anymore” and “Fooling myself again” where Roberto and Alessandro have the biggest part. Some of the songs are really catchy and Roberto gets a lot of help in the choruses. Some other stand outs are “Ordinary man”, “All in a crime”, “What’s yours is mine” and “Young”.

The high quality of the material is impressive I can totally recommend this to all fans of guitar based melodic hard rock since this album is damn good! I really hope that they keep doing albums under the name Headrush.

Labels: and
Track Listing

My world
Not just anyone
Fooling myself again
Ordinary man
All in a crime
What’s yours is mine
Catch 22
Change my life
Get off the dime
‘Til I know


Roberto Tiranti – lead vocals
Alessandro De Rosso – guitar, keyboards, programmig
Mauro Castellani – bass
Dave Fini – drums

Next review: » Headspeed - Blueprint For Disaster
Previous review: » Headrush - Headrush

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.