Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Retaliate demo
April 2007
Released: 2006, Self-released
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

The “Demo Of The Month” award has been given to these Finnish metallers named Hateform at least three times by such Finnish media as Imperiumi (.net) and both Soundi - and Inferno magazines. You may wonder, with what merits have they achieved that status? Let me enlighten you…

The band’s debut 4-track promotional-CD which they recorded last year, brought them a boatload of positive feedback from media and some record labels due to the band’s tightly played, melodic and modern Thrash/Death Metal. Keep in mind that saying the words ´melodic´ and ´modern´ doesn´t automatically mean the words ´faceless´ or ´Gothenburg-sounding´ - not with Hateform. Even if the band knows the meaning for melodies in their modern Death/Thrash Metal approach, their own push for certain melodies cannot be linked to that ´loved & loathed´ Gothenburg phenomenon - thank God!

Hateform heavily rely on relatively fast tempos through all four songs. The music is technical, even relatively complex and very well crafted. They seem to have the understanding of the team demands required to allow an effortless flow resulting in a hard and effective impact. Granted, they don’t necessarily drop bombs that are THAT unique, or that may cause a big ´Wow!´. On the other hand, none of us should really question the fact Hateform´s neck-breaking deathrashing explodes more holes into the ground than many other bands of a similar style. A song called “Until We Drown” hits harder than any other of the 3 sons on this demo.

Hateform are one of those bands you may hear on labels like Century Media or Nuclear Blast, and I guess it´s only a matter of time when they will be snapped by some label as it´ll undoubtedly happen eventually.
Track Listing

01. Intro: Retaliation
02. Chains
03. Sky Cries Blood
04. Until We Drown
05. Tongues Spitting Deception


Petri Nyström - Vocals
Tomy Laisto - Guitar
Tom Gardiner - Guitar
Joni Suodenjärvi - Bass
Tuomas Vähämaa - Drums

Other reviews

» Retaliate demo
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Dominance
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Origins of Plague
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Hateful Desolation - Withering in Dust
Previous review: » Hateform - Origins of Plague

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.