Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Hate Squad
Deguello Wartunes
June 2008
Released: 2008, Dockyard 1/Sound Pollution
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

These haters come from Germany and were established at the beginning of the 1990’s by Burkhard Schmitt. His aim was to play aggressive and groovy music and mix thrash, death metal and hardcore and out came Hate Squad. The band created their own unique style and brand and broke ground for many new acts to come forward. The band’s debut called THEATER OF HATE came out in 1994, but despite massive touring through Europe and numerous years of experience they’ve only released 5 albums. I don’t have the slightest idea if the band is political or not, I only know that they’re really mad.

Guest appearances on the album include Marcus Bischoff from Heaven Shall Burn, Timo Böhling from Maintain and Julian Tomke. Through the years the band has refined their music and their talent but the music is still angry and aggressive hardcore influenced by death and thrash metal, only now it’s delivered in a smaller dose.

DEGUELLO WARTUNES is a wet dream for all fans of extreme metal; this is nothing but sheer brutality and hate in its purest form and it’s wonderful to listen to. I love this German act and I have no choice but to jump along with the music and get carried away by the mad guitar riffs and the flaming beats.

I have a hard time picking out killer tracks when the entire album kills you. Hate Squad has made an amazing album that holds you in its grip for the 50 minutes it lasts. The production is just as brilliant as the rest of the album and it balances the hardcore, thrash and death metal influences perfectly.

I recommend this album to all readers; it’s hard to shake off the feeling of the album once it’s over and so I advise you put it on repeat. DEGUELLO WARTUNES is a lesson in violence and I congratulate them on their 15 years in the business and hope for 15 more. The bio ends with these words which are also the title of a song: “Never surrender… die fighting”, and that pretty much sums up the essence of Hate Squad.
Track Listing

1. Deguello Wartunes
2. Rise Up
3. Killing Spree
4. At The End Alone
5. Anger From The Gutter
6. Aggro Manticore
7. Never Surrender…Die Fighting
8. My War
9. Shank
10. Hannover H8core
11. Rivers Of Blood


Burkhard Schmitt – lead vocals
Mark Kunnemann – guitar
Helge Dolgener – drums
Bauke De Groot – bass
Martin Blankenburg – guitar

Other reviews

» Deguello Wartunes
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Hatebreed - For the Lions
Previous review: » Hate Eternal - The Perilous Fight (DVD)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.