Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

General Surgery
Corpus in Extremis: Analysing Necrocriticism
May 2009
Released: 2009, Listenable Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Mr. Rock

Well, it’s been three years since General Surgery released LEFT HAND PATHOLOGY, and with the release of CORPUS IN EXTREMIS: ANALYSING NECROCRITICISM, the band is now ready to take over the world, and there’s nothing we can do to stop them!

Right from the opening blast of “Necronomics”, the listeners are treated to an absolutely psychotic, intense, and more than a little scary ride. Fifteen songs clocking in at a little over 36 minutes, CORPUS IN EXTREMIS is non-stop, old school Swedish death metal, mixed with a touch of grind and a lot of gore. Never once stopping the ‘procedure’, General Surgery gets you on the table, and you don’t stand a chance. Whether it’s short blasts like “Adnexal Mass” (0:35) or longer pieces like “Mortsafe Rupture” (3:24), the band mixes it up beautifully – you never know what’s coming next. With lyrics that center around medical procedures (similar to, but not the same as The County Medical Examiners), the album is everything that is cool about extreme music, though I must admit, the lyrics do tend to go over my head (but hey, I’m not a doctor…).

Vocalist Erik Sahlström is on top of his game here, his throaty growl ever menacing, while Carlson and Wallin provide the perfect amount of back up to allow Sahlström to lead the brigade. Eriksson and Mitroulis are in amazing form here, providing the solid bottom end that is strong enough to melt your insides (thus requiring surgery…).

General Surgery has created one of the most menacing, bulldozing releases of the year, and if you consider yourself a fan of extreme music, then you need to add this great disc to your collection. No need for a second opinion…this General Surgery is necessary!
Track Listing

1. “Necronomics” 0:46
2. “Decedent Scarification Aesthetics” 1:47
3. “Restrained Remains” 3:04
4. “Final Excarnation” 1:42
5. “Necrocriticism” 2:53
6. “Exotoxic Septicity” 2:21
7. “Adnexal Mass” 0:35
8. “Virulent Corpus Dispersement” 5:17
9. “Ichor” 3:05
10. “Idle Teratoma Core” 2:10
11. “Perfunctory Fleshless Precipitate” 1:53
12. “Plexus Necrosis” 1:48
13. “Unwitting Donor / Cadaver Exchange” 1:26
14. “Mortsafe Rupture” 3:24
15. “Deadhouse” 4:01


Erik Sahlström - lead vocals
Joacim Carlsson - guitar
Johan Wallin - guitar, backing vocals
Andreas Eriksson - bass, backing vocals
Andreas Mitroulis - drums, backing vocals

Other reviews

Next review: » General Surgery - Corpus in Extremus: Analysing Necroticism
Previous review: » Gene Simmons - Asshole

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.