Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Gary Hughes
December 2007
Released: 2007, Frontiers Records
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Gary Hughes is a well-known British singer/songwriter/musician/producer in the melodic rock scene. This is his fourth solo album; the last one came out in 1998 and was called PRECIOUS ONES. On this album Hughes has decided on a completely different line up.

Hughes’ voice is perfect for singing this kind of music and the entire album is perfect when it comes to both the music and the singing. This is a typical Frontiers Records release with slick production and a melodic theme. Hughes produced the album, and it’s a slick melodic production with no surprises, but it’s perfect for Hughes’ music. I do think his music would gain a lot if he used less keyboard and more guitar.

The album is really long; over one hour and 12 songs, which is a little too much when it comes to standard melodic rock. The lyrics are about love and unhappy love and most of them go the same direction, so it’s a pretty bland album in that regard.

“Wide Awake In Dreamland”, “Synchronicity” and “I Pray For You” are the three most boring songs and in all of them the keyboard dominates the mix, which is never a good sign.

I’m not impressed at all by Gary Hughes’ fourth solo attempt. Sure, fans of him might like it, but that’s probably it. I think he’s gonna have a hard time convincing the masses to buy it. VERITAS may be fun on the first listen. But it doesn’t endure any longer than that.
Track Listing

1. Veritas
2. See Love Through My Eyes
3. In My Head
4. Time To Pray
5. Wide Awake In Dreamland
6. I Pray For You
7. Synchronicity
8. Strange
9. All I Want Is You
10. I Know It’s Time
11. The Emerald Sea
12. The Everlasting Light


Gary Hughes – lead vocals, keyboards, guitar, bass, programming, b-vox
Johnny Gibbons – guitar
Chris Francis – guitar
John Halliwell – guitar
Rick Stewart – bass
Simon Brayshaw – bass
Jason Robinson – drums
Dave Ingledew – drums

Other reviews

» Veritas
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Gary John Barden - The Agony And Xtasy
Previous review: » Garth Arum - The Dawn of a New Creation

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.