Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Way of All Flesh
January 2009
Released: 2008, Prosthetic Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Mr. Rock

One of the great things about metal, well even just music in general, is coming across albums that are so creative, so interesting, so original, and so intelligent, that you just don’t know what to make of it. THE WAY OF ALL FLESH by French metallers Gojira is one of the most wonderfully eerie, original, immense releases you are going to hear this year. Without even realizing it, you are, almost hypnotically, drawn into the music as it swirls around you. And the riffs…oh, those beautiful, nasty riffs.

Gojira is an extremely talented band, and this is evident on every song on THE WAY OF ALL FLESH. Vocalist Duplantier is really outstanding here – haunting, and yet almost intimate. It’s almost as though he’s singing only to, and for, you. Sometimes with a stellar death growl, sometimes clean, this makes for a very intense listen. Together with guitarist Andreu, Duplantier has also managed to create some the biggest, catchiest riffs in music (not just in metal). You know it’s big when you find yourself driving down the street actually humming the riffs (this happened to me for the song “A Sight To Behold”).

Gojira just might be the best band you’ve never heard of. Talented, creative, and highly original, the band and this disc are amazing on so many levels. Do yourself a favour and check out THE WAY OF ALL FLESH – you won’t be disappointed. This is one of the best albums of the year.

GEMS: songs 1 through 12

Track Listing

Joseph Duplantier – vocals / guitar
Christian Andreu - guitar
Jean Michel - bass
Mario Duplantier - drums


1. “Oroborus” 5:21
2. “Toxic Garbage Island” 4:06
3. “A Sight To Behold” 5:09
4. “Yama's Messengers” 4:04
5. “The Silver Cord” 2:31
6. “All The Tears” 3:41
7. “Adoration For None” 6:19
8. “The Art Of Dying” 9:54
9. “Esoteric Surgery” 5:44
10. “Vacuity” 4:51
11. “Wolf Down The Earth” 6:25
12. “The Way Of All Flesh 17:04

Next review: » Golden Dawn - Masquerade
Previous review: » Gojira - Magma

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.