Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

2 Song Demo
March 2005
Released: 2004, Independent
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: EvilG

Fans of Swedish bands like Nocturnal Rites and HammerFall will be quite pleased with Frequency…if you don’t mind the absence of originality. Like was the case with a couple other power metal bands, the members of Sweden’s Frequency started out in a death metal band. In this case that band was Lothlorien from which 3 members of Frequency came. Immediately before forming Frequency, they stared a power metal band called Melodrama but it soon ended making way for Frequency.

This demo is the band’s 4th, yet is the first one I’ve heard so I can’t comment on the bands progress. Both tracks on this 2-song demo are in the same vein. They are clearly power metal and feature well rehearsed musicians, strong & powerful vocals, good lead guitar playing, memorable songs….but it all suffers from the “heard if before” syndrome. This is well done, and if I wouldn’t have heard so many bands like this, I’d like Frequency much more. In any oversaturated scene, be it power metal, death metal, or any style of metal, there are innovators and followers. Sometimes the followers are brilliant imitators and eventually develop their own sound. Hopefully that’s what will happen with Frequency.

Frequency has the chops and talent…but originality is a little harder to come by. Considering that three members came from a death metal background, you’d think the band might be a little heavier, but they have buried their death metal past. Perhaps with a little more blood, sweat, and beers they’ll find their niche.
Track Listing

1. Oblivion
2. Time


Linus Wikstrom – guitars
Daniel Hannedahl – drums
Tobias Birgersson – guitars
Glen Lauren – vocals
Mats Halldin - bass

Other reviews

» 2 Song Demo
by EvilG

Next review: » Frequency Of Butterfly Wings - The Weight Of Existence
Previous review: » Frenzy - Lethal Protector

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.