Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Funeral Planet
Planetary Rites
August 2006
Released: 2006, Official Funeral Planet Graveyard
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

The Finnish Funeral Planet´s Doom Metal patrol has paid a visit to a studio, as a result of this, having their new 2nd, 3-song demo in their hands. Where they have gone to with this brand-new demo, is the similar realms of crushing, blood-freezing slow doom where their country mates Reverend Bizarre sucked their own bits of doom from. On the PLANETARY RITES demo Funeral Planet is basically on the same lines musically as Reverend Bizarre - yes, trusting this classic oldschool Doom Metal sound and making their best out of it, with its musical references to the true doomeisters Saint Vitus, The Obsessed - touching even the old magick of Cathedral. And Planet Funeral´s does a somewhat impressive job with all these musical ingredients they have melted into the songs on PLANETARY RITES. Especially the 2nd track, "Children of the Moon" and the 3rd track, "Ascendant Mars", get hairs up in my neck by sounding bizarre, in a beautiful way eerie and kind of disturbing even, both showing more than well what so-called oldschool Doom Metal should be all about, once and for all. The band´s vocalist Mika Hankaniemi sounds like a totally hopeless, isolated and abandoned poor human being, about to cut his wrists at any minute i.e. damn good for Doom Metal of their kind.

There´s a breath of an ancient graveyard on this demo; a smell of an old open grave coming through their songs - and most importantly, there´s even 3 lenghty slices of a well-executed Doom Metal on PLANETARY RITES (clocking in well over 23 minutes), so I urge you to buy this demo for yourself immediately. Tomorrow it´s already too late.
Track Listing

01. The Return
02. Children of the Moon
03. Ascendant Mars


Mika Hankaniemi - Vocals
Tomi Kauhajärvi - Drums
Jani Härkönen - Guitar
Juha Köykkä - Guitar
Mika Pajula - Bass

Other reviews

by Luxi Lahtinen

» Planetary Rites
by Luxi Lahtinen

Next review: » Funerary - Starless Aeon
Previous review: » Funeral Planet - BORN IN BLACK

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.