Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Flotsam And Jetsam
Once in a Deathtime (DVD)
March 2009
Released: 2008, Metal Mind Productions
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Mr. Rock

Flotsam & Jetsam are real anomaly. They’re one of those bands that have been around for a long, long time, but never seemed to be able to break out to the masses. They never turned into an Anthrax, Slayer, or Metallica, however fans of good ‘ol fashion thrash know that Flotsam & Jetsam deserves to be mentioned in the same sentences as these bands.

Now, the band has another chance to show their goods with their latest DVD, cleverly titled ONCE IN A DEATHTIME. The disc, filmed in March ’08 during the Metal Mania festival in Katowice, Poland, is a nice mix from the F&J catalog. With songs dating back through the years such as ‘Doomsday For The Deceiver’ and ‘I Live You Die’, right up to “Swatting At Flies” and “Never To Reveal” (from ‘08’s CUATRO), those looking to find out about the band can certainly get a good history lesson here.

Throughout the entire performance, the band is tight, with head belter Eric A.K. showing he has what it takes. It’s the kind of performance where you think, man, this is a real rock and roll band. Not perfect, but every once is blood and sweat. Guitarists Carlson and Simpson and a tight pair, bringing each song to life.

The footage is really well shot here, giving the viewer/listener the feeling that they are right there in audience. It’s clear, it’s crisp, and it kicks some ass – worthy of a kick ass band.

As far as the extras go, there is an interview with Craig Nielsen and Ed Carlson (Ed dominates the interview), a biography, discography, photo gallery, desktop images, and weblinks. Not the greatest extras, but they are just that – extras. The real appeal is the concert footage.

All in all, a nice package from a very talented band, that also serves as a great retrospective of a very cool career. Worth checking out.
Track Listing

1.“Hammerhead” – 6:33
2.“Me” – 3:39
3.“The Master Sleeps” – 4:48
4.“Swatting At Flies” – 4:38
5.“No Place For Disgrace” – 6:43
6.“Doomsday For The Deceiver” – 7:25
7.“Hard On You” – 4:47
8.“Fork Boy” – 4:23
9.“Never To Reveal” – 4:55
10.“Escape From Within” – 6:24
11.“I Live You Die” – 7:25
12.“Smoked Out” – 5:42


Eric A.K. – vocals
Edward Carlson – guitar
Craig Nielsen – drums
Jason Ward – bass
Mark Simpson - guitar

Next review: » Flotsam And Jetsam - The Cold
Previous review: » Flotsam And Jetsam - No Place For Disgrace 2014

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.