Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

November 2004
Released: 2004, Napalm Records
Rating: 1.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Here comes a Swedish sideproject from the guys of Vintersorg. Fission was formed by Benny Hägglund usually session drummer in Vintersorg. During 02 Benny started to write songs for this album and the goal was to write songs that combined melody with aggression. Benny realized his limitation in the song-writing department and asked Vintersorgs vocalist Andreas Hedlund (who IS Vintersorg) if he could write vocal lines to Benny’s songs.

A two track demo was recorded which was sent around to different labels including Vintersorg’s label Napalm Records. After some thinking Napalm signed them and all was in order to record a debut album.

Fission are only Andreas and Benny. Benny takes care of most of the instruments like bass, guitars and drums. Sadly this isn’t fun to listen to at all. It sounds just like Vintersorg but with a bigger part of complex thrash metal mixed with calmer parts. Fission feels like a band that could have been something during the second or third thrash-wave at the end of the 90’s.

They deliver 11 tracks which sounds very thin, boring and weak to say the least. Of those 11 tracks all are in English except for “EREMITEN” who’s on Swedish.

Even though I’ve always been a big fan of thrash metal this feels mostly like a big sigh. I can’t come up with any positive comments about Fission other than if you’re a fan of Vintersorg you might find this appealing. The info note says “Both members will continue to share this vision, which combines their own brand of melodic thrash metal with new perspectives and personal colorings”. If Benny ought to continue doing this I really hope that he can achieve something better than this next time.
Track Listing

Empty nimbus
Catastrophe consumer
The core – 118 protons of insanity
Mind vortex
The chaos algorithm


Benny Hägglund – drums, guitar, bass
Vintersorg – lead vocals, keyboard

Other reviews

» Crater
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Fistula - Loser
Previous review: » Fischer, Tom - Only Death Is Real-An Illustrated History of Hellhammer and Early Celtic Frost (Book Review)

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.