Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Few Against Many
July 2012
Released: 2012, Century Media
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Too mellow. Those two words some up the new Firewind album. I’d suggest that maybe Gus G. has used all his best work for the last Ozzy record but that is clearly not the case as the songs were written by the time he joined. So what is it then? Album number seven (or eight if you count the independent debut NOCTURNAL SYMPHONY as part of the official catalogue) should have been a return to form after the last one, which also had slightly less critical acclaim.

There is nothing technically wrong with FEW AGAINST MANY but the songs seem to lack that fiery impact. The new drummer, Jo Nunez who also pulls double-duty as the skin-pounder for Nightrage, does a fine job and the line-up stays intact from the previous record. The production is fine, Apollo sound good as always, the albums has it’s ups and down (fast and slow, heavy and light) and a smattering of keyboards but I feel the song-writing has veered from Power Metal to Traditional Metal. I know that is a subtle distinction but there are very few fast songs, very little double-kick and Apollo’s delivery is restrained and more melodic. That’s fine, that’s what the song calls for but overall I felt FEW AGAINST MANY needed to have higher highs, lower lows, soaring vocals, and more intensity and pace. Even the ballad, Edge of Dream featuring Apocalyptica seems forced and lacking passion.

It’s difficult to articulate the almost indistinguishable sense of mild disappointment. Ultimately, if this was a brand new band with no history, I’d say they have enormous potential and have a excellent melodic Metal sound but as it stands I expect more from these veterans who are on the downward slide and not the raging Firewind of old.
Track Listing

1. Wall of Sound
2. Losing My Mind
3. Few Against Many
4. The Undying Fire
5. Another Dimension
6. Glorious
7. Edge of a Dream
8. Destiny
9. Long Gone Tomorrow
10. No Heroes, No Sinners


Apollo Papathanasio-Vocals
Gus G.-Guitar
Bob Katsionis-Keyboards, Guitar
Petros Christo-Bass
Jo Nunez-Drums

Next review: » Firewind - Forged By Fire
Previous review: » Firewind - Burning Earth

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.