Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Final Frontier
March 2007
Released: 2006, Escape Music/Zink Music
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Final Frontier is back with their fourth album! I first laid eyes on the band when I got their previous album HIGH TENSION WIRE in 2005. It was a brilliant album and it got great reviews here. If you’re interested in reading more about Rob, Mladen, and Final Frontier then check out that review available on the Metal-Rules main page.

The band has a new drummer as well as a new label to back them up. Just as on the previous album, there isn’t a full line-up. Mladen takes care of guitar, bass, and keyboards. The music is still the same as before; melodic hard rock in the veins of Journey and Steve Perry’s solo albums.

If the last album was a masterpiece, this is even better (or at least in the same league). The only major differences are that the tempo has been sped up and the band has worked a little harder on the material this time. They balance the use of keyboards and guitar perfectly and Rob Moratti sings just as wonderfully as before. Complementing Mladen on guitar is Lawrence Falconer, who takes care of the lead guitar parts. He dazzles you by mixing sharp guitar solos with calmer parts. The newcomer Kevin Howley is a genius on drums and he contributes solid and hard-hitting drumming.

I have 12 tracks on my promo copy, 2 of which are bonus tracks called “Half Way Home” and “Delia”. The album is pretty long at one hour, which isn’t bad. FREELIGHT is a perfect melodic hard rock album with an edgier twist. One major plus is the small amount of love-themed songs that seem to be standard on melodic hard rock/rock albums. It’s really hard to pick out any favorite tracks from this very consistent album, but “Freelight”, “Only The Lonely”, “All The Way”, “The Witches Mask”, “Foolish Pride”, “Someone’s Watching”, “Nothing Is Easy”, and “Lion’s Den” are all highlights that deserve to be listened to again and again. The only ballads are “I Hope You Don’t Mind” and “Delia”, which are actually great ballads to be honest.

It’s hard to find any negative things about the album, since it’s just as good as the previous one. This is what great melodic hard rock ought to sound like in my opinion. Final Frontier has once again proven that they are one of the leading acts within this genre, and it’s going to be extremely hard to top this album. We have only to congratulate Final Frontier on a genuinely solid album. I simply have to give it the same rating as the previous one because I want to leave some room for their next album, which could be even stronger.
Track Listing

Foolish Pride
Only the Lonely
I Hope You Don’t Mind
Someone’s Watching You
All the Way
Nothing Is Easy
Lion’s Den
The Witches Mask
Half Way Home (bonus track)
Delia (bonus track)


Rob Moratti – lead vocals
Mladen – guitar, bass, keyboards
Lawrence – lead guitar
Kevin Howley – drums

Other reviews

» High Tension Wire
by Anders Sandvall

» High Tension Wire
by Waspman

» Freelight
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Final Frontier - High Tension Wire
Previous review: » Final Dawn - Under the Bleeding Sky

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.