Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Eden's Curse
Live With The Curse
May 2015
Released: 2015, AFM Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

After losing their namesake (vocalist Michael Eden), multinational hard rocking power metallers Eden’s Curse regrouped in a big way in 2013 with the excellent SYMPHONY OF SIN album. To celebrate their renewed vigor and cement their new lineup, the band has unleashed this double live opus.

Recorded live in Glasgow, Scotland (home of band leader Paul Logue), LIVE WITH THE CURSE culls together 18 tracks from all four of the band’s studio albums (and one single). The sound is rich, for a live recording, with a nice full mix that allows each band member to shine. If I had one comment, it’s that the band’s live sound could be complimented by a second guitar to help fill the space when guitarist Thorsten Kohne rips out one of his guitar solos. That minor niggle aside, this is a great sounding live record.

Vocalist Nikola Mijic really shines throughout the record. His Tobias Sammet-ish voice is a huge highlight, particularly when he effortlessly pulls off the sustained high notes (see the awesome “Time to Breathe”). This guy is a real find and hopefully he sticks with the band for a long time to come. I was also impressed by the high quality of the background vocals provided by the band as well. As for the music itself, every single song rocks powerfully and confidently making it really difficult to pick favorites – I honestly can’t think of a single song that I would skip! It seems that, while they don’t break a lot of new ground, Eden’s Curse has a gift for writing incredibly catchy power metal.

For fans of the band LIVE WITH THE CURSE is mandatory listening and, as far as I’m concerned, this is a must have for all power metal fans as well. This is easily one of the best live albums I’ve ever heard and deserves your attention. Long Live the Curse!
Track Listing

Disc 1:
1) Symphony of Sin
2) Break the Silence
3) Masquerade Ball
4) Black Widow
5) Trinity
6) Fly Away
7) Just Like Judas
8) Fallen From Grace
9) Jerusalem Sleeps
10) Guitar Solo
11) Time to Breathe
Disc 2:
1) Rock Bottom
2) Devil In Disguise
3) Wings to Fly
4) No Holy Man
5) Unbreakable
6) Judgement Day
7) Band Introductions
8) Evil & Divine
9) Angels & Demons


Nikola Mijic: Vocals
Thorsten Kohne: Guitar
Steve Williams: Keyboards
Paul Logue: Bass
John Clelland: Drums



Next review: » Eden's Curse - Symphony Of Sin
Previous review: » Edenwar - Edenwar

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.