Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Evil Madness/Infant Death
Split LP
December 2016
Released: 2016, Doomentia Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

Get ready to thrash your brains out like it’s 1985 all over again, because this new split from Evil Madness and Infant Death is going to kick your ass back in time. Originally released this Fall on cassette through Chile’s Ancestral Terror Records and on CD through Japan’s Deathrash Armageddon, Doomentia Records just released this bad boy on 45 RPM vinyl, which by all accounts is the best way to be experienced. The two bands featured on the album are different in their methods of execution, but complement each other tremendously well.

Chile’s Evil Madness owns the first four tracks on the split, devastating swiftly and without prejudice. Reveling in the proto-death type of thrash perfected by the likes of Possessed and Sarcofago and with a wink and a nod to Hellhammer, the Evil Madness songs are the more looser and chaotic of the set. Standout tracks like “Convulsive Reality” and “Speed Kills” burn fast and faster, often sounding like they’re bound to shake the speakers off your shelf at any moment. But the blasts remain crazy tight and the solos rip with the best shredders of the day.

Norway’s Infant Death carries the latter half of the split, celebrating the soldiers of the German Thrash Metal Infantry - Kreator, Destruction, and Sodom. Compared to Evil Madness, Infant Death displays a more controlled type of chaos in their tunes; the production work is noticeably better and the songs are more tech savvy than their peers on side A, but it’s still a whiplash inducing collection of old school thrash worship. A cover of Onslaught’s “Thermonuclear Devastation” fits in nicely between the original tunes, and “Maniac Armies” even flirts with some blackening of the riffs, a la DEATHCRUSH-era Mayhem.

I wasn’t familiar with either of these bands prior to listening to this promo, but that’s the beauty of these kinds of underground splits and the beauty of labels like Doomentia being willing to push them towards the masses. There's some amazing heavy metal music being generated across the globe, and releases like this brings the metal world a little closer together. For Evil Madness and Infant Death, old school is the only school - and this split will remind you why.
Track Listing

Side A
1. Evil Madness - Disease Is Coming... Kill Them!
2. Evil Madness - Debased Mind
3. Evil Madness - Convulsive Reality
4. Evil Madness - Speed Kills
Side B
5. Infant Death - Cleanser of the Weak
6. Infant Death - Phases of Ignorance
7. Infant Death - Maniac Armies
8. Infant Death - Thermonuclear Devastation (Onslaught cover)
9. Infant Death - Vicious Attacks


Evil Madness
Cristian Contreras - Guitars, Vocals
Matias Ubeda - Guitars
Diego Chored Carrillo - Bass, Vocals
Aborrecido - Drums

Infant Death
Kim Kane - Drums, Guitars
Knegge - Guitars, Vocals
UDYR – Bass

Other reviews

» Split LP
by Aaron Yurkiewicz

Next review: » Evil Masquerade - Pentagram
Previous review: » Evil Lucifera - Atrium Infernalis

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.