Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Requiem For The Indifferent
May 2012
Released: 2012, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Like clockwork since the beginning of their career in 2003, the band have released an album every couple of years. I’ve been a fan since the debut album and have enjoyed them in concert. Naturally, I was looking forward to their 7th album REQUIEM FOR THE INDIFFERENT and thankfully I was not disappointed.

Epica, along with a handful of Dutch bands (and Nightwish of course) really pioneered this style and sound a little over ten years ago, and thankfully very little has changed. No lineup changes. No label change. The bands back with Sacha Paeth again for the production and Amanda Somerville is still heavily involved behind the scenes. If it’s not broken don’t fix it. Again Nuclear Blast and crew present a nice package, notes, lyrics and photos in a well-designed booklet. Perhaps the only gripe about the actual package is the multiple versions for multiple territories. To get every song (the bonus tracks) you would have to buy three versions but I’m sure that would break the record companies heart. My version has a bonus tracks called ‘Twin Flames (Sound track version)’

Everything you could want in a Symphonic style Metal album is here. As always the bands gives you lots of music. My version has 14 tracks for 77 minutes of music and yet it never drags or becomes dull. That speaks to the strength of the song-writing or the ‘light and shade’ as Led Zeppelin put it. The dynamics in the compositions give your ears lots of figure out and enjoy. One minute you have death growls and pummeling drums (Monopoly On Truth) the next minute, you have a tender acoustic piano ballad (Delirium) highlighting the sweet voice of Simone Simons. The eight-minute title track has a bit of a middle-eastern feel to the song but never forsaking the always high-quality guitar of Issac. REQUIEM OF THE INDIFFERENT is slightly heavier this album than the previous effort. All the expected components are in the songs; acoustic guitar, epic and bombastic, symphonic sections with horns and strings, choirs, and of course the female clean-vocal vs. rough male-vocal dynamic of Simon and Jansen.

REQUIEM FOR THE INDIFFERENT I feel is just slightly stronger album than the past couple of records but the quality level has always been extremely high from day one, as Epica deliver album after album of top-notch, world-class symphonic Metal.
Track Listing

1. Karma 01:33
2. Monopoly on Truth
3. Storm the Sorrow
4. Delirium
5. Internal Warfare
6. Requiem for the Indifferent
7. Anima
8. Guilty Demeanor
9. Deep Water Horizon
10. Stay the Course
11. Deter the Tyrant
12. Avalanche
13. Serenade of Self-Destruction


Simone Simons - Vocals
Mark Jansen -Guitar, Vocals
Isaac Delahaye- Guitar
Yves Huts -Bass
Coen Janssen- Keyboards, Piano
Ariën van Weesenbeek Drums, Vocals

Next review: » Epica - The Divine Conspiracy
Previous review: » Epica - Requiem for the Indifferent

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.