Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Design Your Universe
February 2010
Released: 2009, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Munkwunk

It took them seven years, but Dutch symphonic goth metallers Epica have finally released an album I can get behind. I have always enjoyed frontwoman Simone Simons' guest work with Kamelot, but Epica never struck a chord with me before now. This is the type of music I was expecting from day one – and while the band hasn't really drastically altered the formula, it seems that this time they mixed it just right.

DESIGN YOUR UNIVERSE is part movie score, part power metal, and part death metal, not altogether different than other Dutch goth bands such as After Forever or Within Temptation. In fact, the band's guitarist and growler Mark Jansen was a founding member of both After Forever and Epica, and Simone occasionally sounds uncannily similar to Sharon from Within Temptation. Despite the similarities though, Epica plays a less radio-friendly form of metal than the latter band.

With 14 tracks totaling just over 79 minutes in length, you can expect a good deal of listening enjoyment from DESIGN YOUR UNIVERSE. It's hard to pick out a few stand-out tracks, but I am especially fond of "Semblance of Liberty", which uses a few sound clips from various political speeches to drive home an interesting point, and "Tides of Time", the album's only track containing no growled vocals.

If this is the direction Epica is headed with their music, I look forward to future releases by this band.
Track Listing

01 - Samadhi ~ Prelude
02 - Resign to Surrender ~ A New Age Dawns - part IV
03 - Unleashed
04 - Martyr of the Free Word
05 - Our Destiny
06 - Kingdom of Heaven ~ A New Age Dawns - part V
07 - The Price of Freedom ~ Interlude
08 - Burn to a Cinder
09 - Tides of Time
10 - Deconstruct
11 - Semblance of Liberty
12 - White Waters
13 - Design Your Universe ~ A New Age Dawns - part VI
14 - Incentive (Bonustrack)


Simone Simons (Vocals)
Mark Jansen (Guitars, grunts & screams)
Isaac Delahaye (Guitars)
Coen Janssen (Synths and Piano)
Yves Huts (Bass guitar)
Ariën van Weesenbeek (Drums)

Next review: » Epica - Requiem for the Indifferent
Previous review: » Epica - Design Your Universe

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.