Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Second To None
April 2004
Released: 2004, Frontiers Records / Atenzia Records
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Eclipse is a new acquaintance for me from Stockholm, Sweden. Eclipse was founded in 1999 by singer Erik Mårtensson. Their first line-up consisted of Erik (lead vocals, guitar and bass), Anders (keyboard and drums) and Magnus (guitar). The band got their first record deal after only one demo and they released the debut “THE TRUTH AND LITTLE MORE” in 2001.

When Eclipse were about to start work on their second album, Anders left the band and along came two new members. Magnus on drums and Fredrik on bass completed the new line-up. On this follow-up the guys were so sure of how they wanted to sound that they went in the studio and produced the album themselves. On the follow up they didn’t have any keyboard player so they brought in Mats Olausson (Malmsteen, etc.) to take care of the keys. The current line-up are all experienced live/studio musicians. They have played with such acts like Europe, Yngwie Malmsteen and Talisman. Even though the guys bravely went into the studio filled with all the good intentions I think that the production sounds pretty standard, nothing more or less. They sound like any melodic hard rock band out there.

Eclipse plays very melodic hard rock with a hook of heavy metal guitar on top of the mix. There are some similarities with other Swedish acts like the newly awakened Europe and Talisman. Erik’s lead vocals feel a bit hollow and he is not a grand singer at all. Magnus on drums and Magnus on guitar feel on the other hand pretty strong throughout the album.

This album does nothing for me; it’s not remotely exciting in the least. It is standard melodic hard rock and nothing more. There are a lot of bands that do this much better.

Labels: and
Track Listing

Always Standing
All I Do
Second To None
Streets Of Gold
I’ll Ask For You
Nothing Between Us
Road To Forever
Body And Soul
Light Of Day
Season Of Life
Better World


Erik Mårtensson – lead vocals, guitar
Magnus Henriksson – lead and rhythm guitar
Fredrik Folkare – bass
Magnus Ulfstedt – drums

Next review: » Eclipse Eternal - Reign of The Unholy Blackened Empire
Previous review: » Eclipse - Monumentum

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.