Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

May 2017
Released: 2017, Frontiers Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

When a band gets in the habit of releasing almost perfect albums time after time, it becomes difficult objectively review their music. After all, if everything a band does is excellent, it quickly becomes expected and hard to get excited. This is the position that Sweden hard rockers Eclipse have put me in.

Yes, it’s been two years since the band’s last album (2015’s ARMAGEDDONIZE) and I was excited when I heard they were ready to release a new record, but when MONUMENTUM finally hit my ear drums my reaction was “Yep, it’s still awesome”: I EXPECTED it to be awesome. I am so jaded, ha.

That takes nothing away from the fact that Eclipse remains one of THE premier hard rock bands in the world. Song writers/guitarists Erik Martensson and Magnus Henriksson have a talent for writing top-flight rock songs and that trend continues throughout MONUMENTUM: not a bad song in the bunch. Martensson’s vocals are still a highlight but songs like “The Downfall of Eden”, “Black Rain”, and “Never Look Back” are some of the best you’ll hear in this genre; impassioned performances are just the icing on the cake.

Speaking of performances, there’s as whole new rhythm section in the bad as the band’s added bassist Magnus Ulfstedt and replaced sadly departed drummer Robban Back with Philip Crusner. Both guys fit perfectly with strong playing, ensuring Eclipse remains at the top of their game.

Obviously, MONUMENTUM continues Eclipse’s strong run at the top of the hard rock pile, giving fans yet another near-flawless hard rock album; one that is sure to put the band near the top of year-end lists for another year.
Track Listing

1. Vertigo
2. Never Look Back
3. Killing Me
4. The Downfall of Eden
5. Hurt
6. Jaded
7. Born to Lead
8. For Better or Worse
9. No Way Back
10. Night Comes Crawling
11. Black Rain


Erik Martensson: Vocals, Guitar
Magnus Henriksson: Guitar
Magnus Ulfstedt: Bass
Philip Crusner: Drums



Next review: » Eclipse - Second To None
Previous review: » Eclipse - Bleed & Scream

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.