Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

The Forever Endeavor
April 2004
Released: 2004, Century Media
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

THE FOREVER ENDEAVOR is the debut from the young and hungry Enforsaken from Chicago USA. The average age in the band is 25 and despite their young age they have been a part of the metal underground scene for the past 5 years. Enforsaken was formed in 1998 by guitarist Steve Stell. He achieved some national attention with a 2 track demo that soon resulted in enough members for a steady line-up. The band recorded a 6-tracker entitled “EMBRACED BY MISERY” in 2000. This was meant to be a demo, but it was released in both Europe and the USA. With this EP things started to happen for Enforsaken including several rave reviews. When Century Media bought the Chicago based label Olympic Records, Century didn’t hesitate to give the band a worldwide deal. This resulted in their official debut “THE FOREVER ENDEAVOR”.

This debut was co-produced by Chris Djuricic and mastered by the metal legend James Murphy (Death, Obituary, Testament etc.). James also appears on the song “ALL FOR NOTHING”. The sound is brutal and aggressive but somewhat melodic in certain parts as well. Enforsaken plays melodic death metal with a lot of tempo changes influenced by heavy metal. They also manage to put in a great amount of the renowned “Gothenburg sound”. By that I mean that their music has big similarities with Swedish acts like At the Gates, In Flames, Soilwork etc. Sometimes the similarities are so strong you’d almost think that this is a Swedish band.

I have no favorite song on the CD, every song is strong and has big potential to become this year’s best debut album. Not only has the Gothenburg sound traveled to U.S. (which feels pretty good for me since I am from Sweden) the cover is also made by a Swede. Niklas Sundin (In Flames, Arch Enemy etc) has made an excellent cover that mirrors the music well.
Track Listing

Tales Of Bitterness
The Forever Endeavor
A Break From Tradition
Vertigo Equilibrium
Dead Night, Dead Light
Cloaked In Need
The Acting Parts
Poison Me
All For Nothing


Steven Sagala – lead vocals
Eric Kava – bass
Joe DeGroot – guitar
Steve Stell – guitar
David Swanson – drums

Other reviews

» The Forever Endeavor
by Night of the Realm

» The Forever Endeavor
by Lord of the Wasteland

» The Forever Endeavor
by Anders Sandvall

Next review: » Engel - ABSOLUTE DESIGN
Previous review: » Enforsaken - The Forever Endeavor

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.