Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

La Fin Absolue Du Monde
June 2014
Released: 2014, Creator-Destructor Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

Enabler take much the same approach that has served Motorhead so well all these years, grabbing elements and influences from here and there, pulling them all together and then beating the living shit out of them. For Motorhead it was hard rock, vintage rock and blues played with the ferocity of thrash metal. With Enabler, it's post-rock, crust punk and metal played with the intensity of grindcore. And the results are no less intense.

Coming on the heels of last year's Shift of Redemption and Flies EPs, the latter of which included a buzz-sawing cover of Sepultura's “Arise,” the Ohio trio's second full-length is a fast, furious, blissfully noisy affair that just bowls you over. The title translates as “the absolute end of the world,” and the band plays as if the end of days is nipping at their heels. “I've Got A Bad Feeling About This” captures the overall vibe here, and the sense of urgency is manic and then some. It's as if they want to get their last shots in before it starts to “Rain Darkness,” to borrow from another song title.

Guitarist/singer Jeffrey Lorhber saws away for all he's worth for much of La Fin Absolue, and hollers himself hoarse over Amanda Daniels’ bulldozing bass while new drummer Ryan Steigerwald sets a blistering pace. Even on the comparatively epic “Felony,” there is rarely much let up, and the album races to a hurtling, old school Swedish death metal-like conclusion on “Linear Existence” and “Consequence” that sounds more like classic Entombed than Entombed actually have in a long time.

The somewhat simplistic songwriting and breathless performances do tend give the material on La Fin Absolue a certain sameness. Indeed much of the album seems like one long blur, as relentless as it is. The punishing grooves on “Neglect” “Balance Of “Terror” and “Sickened By The Wake” and some occasional, if brief, mood swings are much appreciated, but some more where that came from might have made for a more memorable album overall.

Still, as an exercise in adrenaline and aggression in equal measures, La Fin Absolue has few equals.
Track Listing

1. Close My Eyes
2. New Life
3. Neglect
4. I've Got A Bad Feeling About This
5. Information Overload
6. Balance of Terror
7. World Sterilization
8. The Exiles
9. Prey
10. Sickened By The Wake
11. Rain Darkness
12. Felony
13. Linear Existence
14. Consequence


Jeffrey Lohrber - vocals, guitar
Amanda Daniels - bass, vocals
Ryan Steigerwald - drums

Other reviews

» La Fin Absolue Du Monde
by Peter Atkinson

Next review: » Encefalo - Slave Of Pain
Previous review: » Empyria - The Legacy

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.