Free Metal E-Mail

New Users Sign Up

Connect. Befriend. Follow.

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Under My Skin
August 2012
Released: 2012, AFM
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Over her long and illustrious career Doro has been on quite a few record labels. Accordingly as she moves through her career and onto different labels, compilation albums appear on the market. Doro is now on Nuclear Blast and no longer on AFM so it is no surprise that AFM is releasing a Best Of Doro compilation to coincide with the release of the new Doro studio album later this year. It makes good business sense to time this release when interest in Doro is renewed. UNDER MY SKIN is a whopping double disc logging in at over 2 hours with 31 songs.

Doro was only with AFM for about six years but they milked her pretty good for two studio albums, a live album, 6 EP’s and a DVD. The tracks on UNDER MY SKIN are culled from these releases and there really isn’t anything rare and unreleased on this comp. There is no method to the track sequence, it’s not in any sort of order it’s just a mish-mash of the songs. I’m not really sure this compilation is all that necessary. This is the 7th Doro compilation released since 1995! A fan will pretty much have all the songs from the studio material, so this is for die-hard collectors only, who have to have everything. It’s a nice cross-section of her time on AFM but nothing more, she probably owed them one record, hence the dreaded term ‘contractual obligation’ album. I'm not implying that AFM did a lousy job, on other compilations they have done a good job (for example the latest U.D.O. Best of, CELEBRATOR) but this time they did the bare minimum.

The music is fantastic of course and for more detailed reviews of her last Live album (CLASSIC DIAMONDS) and the last two studio albums, (WARRIOR SOUL , FEAR NO EVIL) please feel free to check our main database.
Track Listing

Disc One

1. All We Are (version 2007)
2. You're My Family
3. I Rule the Ruins
4. Celebrate
5. Strangers Yesterday
6. Walking with the Angels
7. Metal Tango
8. Thunderspell
9. Herzblut
10. Warrior Soul
11. My Majesty
12. Für Immer
13. Love Me in Black
14. Always Live to Win
15. Running from the Devil
16. Above the Ashes
17. Let Love Rain On Me

Disc Two

1. Celebrate (Full Metal Female version)
2. Rescue Me
3. Rare Diamond (Acoustic version)
4. Angel in the Dark
5. 1999
6. In Liebe und Freundschaft
7. I Lay My Head Upon My Sword
8. Tausend Mal Gelebt
9. Wildfire
10. Breaking the Law
11. She's Like Thunder (2005 version)
12. The Queen
13. You Won My Love
14. Lonely Wolf


Doro- vocals
Various others

Next review: » Doro - Warrior Soul
Previous review: » Doro - Raise Your Fist

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.