Featured Events

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Morbid Death
June 2015
Released: 2015, Memento Mori
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Sweden has long been synonymous with death metal, with a slew of some of the top names in the genre originating there. Keeping the torch of the old masters aflame whilst still adding a modern twist has given rise to a new generation of death metal, which has already seen some exceptionally good bands. One such band is Disrupted, who, following the release of their first EP last year, have recently unleashed their debut full-length album “Morbid Death”, featuring guest appearances of Bloodbath’s Per "Sodomizer" Eriksson on the first two songs.

Launching straight into a vicious onslaught of aural annihilation, “Morbid Death” has a take-no-prisoners approach. Guttural growls combine with thunderous drumming to form an unstoppable bombardment of sheer force, countered by searing solos and infectious riffs. In short, Disrupted hits you with the inescapable dynamism of a tank, leaving you crushed and broken. One of the highlights of the album is “Funeral Creep”; amalgamating furious blitzkriegs of face numbing speed with slower, more ominous sections, this song is a prime example of what Disrupted is capable of. “Maimed and Devoured” is also excellent, with a quirky melody couple with neck-breaking tempo that gives the song a very distinctive feel; I can well imagine that this song must be absolutely catastrophic live. For the most part, the remainder of the album is well composed and the musicianship is also of a decent calibre, although lacking the unique twist that makes them truly as outstanding as “Funeral Creep” and “Maimed and Devoured”, and perhaps “Buried in Bowels”. Having said that however, I must add that it is arguably a mammoth task to try and distinguish oneself as a Swedish death metal band when the standards have already been set so high by illustrious forefathers such as Bloodbath and Dismember. Nevertheless, it stands testament to Disrupted’s potential that already on their debut have they managed to create a favourable impression.

Overall, “Morbid Death” impresses with its relentless brutality. Tempo changes are also cleverly incorporated throughout the album, ensuring that the music stays fresh and interesting throughout. On the downside, the recording quality has a fuzzy and indistinctive edge which dulls the withering bite of their music somewhat. Nevertheless, “Morbid Death” is a strong start for a band that has the potential to make it far, and with the entire album being available on YouTube, there’s no excuse not to check out Disrupted. This is definitely a band to keep a close eye on!

Review by Erika Kuenstler
Track Listing

1. Rotten
2. Feast on the Priest
3. From the Tomb
4. Funeral Creep
5. Psalm for the Slaughtered
6. Maimed and Devoured
7. Resurrected
8. Behead the Dead
9. Buried in Bowels
10. Christian Death


Mikael Hanni – Vocals
Thomas Liljekvist – Guitars
Johan Kvastegård – Guitars
Jimmy Hurtig – Drums
Erik Jerka Sävström – Bass

Other reviews

» Morbid Death
by UK Team

Next review: » Dissection - Live Legacy
Previous review: » Dispersion - Pillars

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.