Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

June 2015
Released: 2015,
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Dienamic was started by Stein-Odin Johannessen (guitar) and Gustav H. Lindquist (vocals) in 2009. Ever since their first live show with their very own music at a Tromsø youth club in 2010, their plan was clear – full throttle. This was the beginning of what turned out to result in a tour in Japan with international headliners only three years later. With ingenious bassist Bjørn-Håvar Skoglund and drummer Jørgen M. Olsen they started to reach the sky with great steps in their music career. Second album ‘Afterlife’ was recorded in April 2014, mixed and mastered during summer 2014.

Dienamic's latest offering “Afterlife” comes in like a hurricane of music straight out of the height of Devildriver's book of riffs with moments of Mid-discography Fear Factory sounds all embellishing themselves within the first track “The Reaping”. It's not a bad thing to be compared too but it does leave little room to be defined from the pack with, being a 2015 release and sounding ten years older than it's release year is hard to get around on the first listen. Still track two “Innocent Gun” picks up a bit more speed and momentum that brings it a little forward in it's sound at first before mellowing out into a harmonic escalate that flows fantastically but leaves track three “Revolution for nothing” to be a heavier piece of machinery.

The one thing that lets down this otherwise well written block of songs is the vocals, they are far too strained and could do with a bit more refinement for example the clean singing is great, it's wholesome and audible. Likewise with the full on aggression parts which work brilliantly over the swirls of chaotic guitar work that are exactly the “fist in the air adrenaline finding” format you need after a bad day and yet its let down by the vocals that are emulating too much on influence.

Having said this, the vocals do improve and take a harder tone as the album goes on with “You still walk” which is a lower paced and more bluesy number that is harsh to the lyrics and almost mystical in it's atmospherics – it's taken all the way until track six for their own sound to be found among the rubble. It's got something special about now with blues break down guitars and exploratory harmony. This is kicked aside quite delightfully with “Generation reboot” which is another bombardment of treats, it's dark, immensely fast but does weaken out which is a shame really, the tempo changes nearly push that Djent button but fall short. Still the flourishing changes do make for an interesting listen. There is plenty of potential for this album, it just needs to pick one way of doing things, frankly it's a bit messy. The album does improve around the time of ninth album self titled track “Afterlife” which gives way to the final installment of the album “the end” which is classically slow paced. Until a roar of death metal collage comes to blow that out of the water.

Overall, the album is for die hard fans of the genre and not for the casual listener. What it lacks in individuality, it makes up for in nostalgia conjuring.
Track Listing

1.The Reaping
2.Innocent Gun
3.Revolution For Nothing
4.Where God Feeds
5.Dance With The Devil
6.You Still Walk
7.Generation Reboot
10.The End


Gustav Harry Lindquist – Vocals,
Stein-Odin Johannessen – Guitar,
Eivind Kjær Killie - Guitar
Kenneth Iversen Muotkajærvi – Bass,
Sebastian Jacobsson - Drums

Other reviews

» Afterlife
by UK Team

» Afterlife
by UK Team

Next review: » Dies Irae - The Art of Endless Creation
Previous review: » Dienamic - Afterlife

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.