Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Die Von Lust
Realm of Constraints (EP)
August 2009
Released: 2009, Indie
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Theis Rytoft

Don’t be surprised if you get associations to some German or Dutch governor getting killed during the medieval times. That is what I had when I heard the name of this new Danish band for the first time. They slowly showed up in this realm in the spring of 2008 and in one year their efforts have been mixed together to create their first EP called REALM OF CONSTRAINTS. The essence of their music is filled with darkness, despair and bottomless agony.

Having only been around for one year, they show a remarkably mature approach in creating their music. One of my first thoughts when I started rolling along on the EP concerned the vocals of the band. It is not the normal average GROWL, straight-forward, deep, "I-shall-fucking-kill-you-with-my-voice-only" you tend to hear way too often. Even though the vocalist expresses himself with some screaming/shouting, the way it is handled immediately gives me a parallel to Swedish Deathstars. The vocals fit very well to their music which is fast-paced, riff-orientated along with small melodic pieces that are greatly composed in their music, and makes for a nice break in the style. Especially the melodic part of the EP excites me and is something I would like to see more of from the band.

I tend to focus a lot on lyrics and Die Von Lust’s lyrics are about self-realization, your look at reality and pain. In this case the lyrics do not convince me if the band will be able to create a full-length album with some diverse and interesting lyrics. They are average and don’t excite me.

Coming down to all of it, Die Von Lust deserve a praise for their interesting sound that I am sure will give them a loyal fan base soon enough. The work they have done to make the EP presentable and good looking is also worthy of a high-five! Very cool, and I can definitely see a parallel from the presentation of the EP to the dark atmosphere of the music.
Track Listing

1. Shattered Glasses
2. Villains
3. Realm of Constraints


Alexander Dam Rasmussen - Vocals
Richard Vinding Kruse - Guitar
Philip Rosenquist - Guitar
Tobias Tornhøj - Bass
Ulrick Bjerregaard - Drums

Other reviews

» Realm of Constraints (EP)
by Theis Rytoft

Next review: » Diecast - Internal Revolution
Previous review: » Die Toten Hosen - Crash-Landing

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.