Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Devil sold His Soul
Blessed & Cursed
August 2010
Released: 2010, Century Media
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

It’s been three years since the release of London’s post metal sextet Devil Sold His Soul unleashed their debut record A FRAGILE HOPE. This was a record that caught acclaim from Kerrang, Metal Hammer and Terrorizer during 2007 from which several tours including Download festival followed henceforth. Now their progressive and overwhelming sound returns with the follow up record BLESSED & CURSED set to be release 12th July 2010.

BLESSED & CURSED opens with the renewed confidence of ‘Tides’ which demonstrates a euphoric edge that is reminiscent of Envy’s Insomniac Doze album. This serves as a perfect opener to ‘Drowning/sinking’ in which the band showcase everything they are about: brutality, delicacy, ambiance and desperation. All these dynamics converge together building towards an outro that would send shivers down the spine of any fan of progressive music.

The unrelenting force of ‘The Disappointment’ with its bleak riffs and ground shaking drumming throws us in the apocalyptic battlefield in which Neurosis fans would feel quite at home with. ‘A Foreboding Sky’ spans across an eight minute terrain in which Edd’s vocals truly shine in accordance with the interwoven layers of melody which culminates into one of the best song ever written by these guys.

Upon reflection BLESSED & CURSED is a rare moment in music in which not a single note of music or vocal transition feels over compensatory or misplaced, everything is exactly where it needs it to be. If you have never heard of them before or if ‘A fragile Hope’ somehow evaded your music collection you could be forgiven, however to miss a band of this calibre at this point in their musical career would indeed be tragic.

(Ben Spencer)
Track Listing

1. Tides (3:40)
2. Drowning/Sinking (7:46)
3. Callous Heart (6:21)
4. An Ocean of Lights (5:48)
5. Frozen (7:50)
6. The Disappointment (6:48)
7. Crane Lake (6:53)
8. A Foreboding Sky (8:38)
9. The Weight of Faith (4:14)
10. Truth Has Come (6:05)


Ed - Vocals
Jonny - Guitars
Iain - Bass
Paul - Samples
Leks - Drums

Rick - Guitars

Next review: » Devil's Dice - Libertarian
Previous review: » Devil Lee Rot - Metalizer

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.