Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Revolution Era
May 2016
Released: 2016, Independent
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

These Italian symphonic power metallians first came to my attention with their enjoyable 2014 album, HUMAN RESET. That release was the 5th in the Italians’ solid career and it appeared that things were on the up-swing for the band. However, vocalist Ivan Giannini has since left the band, forcing them to regroup. Presumably, while the search for a new vocalist continues, Derdian have chosen to enlist some friends in the power metal scene and re-record a selection of cuts from their first three albums (The New Era Saga). And what a list it is! Take a look at the bottom and you’ll see a veritable who’s who of power metal vocalists.

The first thing I noticed when listening to this is that the production is superb, really giving the songs the clarity that this type of metal requires. The album sounds fantastic. On top of that, the band has selected some of the strongest songs from their early albums and sequenced them logically to make REVOLUTION ERA feel like a true album as opposed to a collection of tracks. One new song is included, “Lord of War”, and while it’s a typical symphonic power metal cut, it’s flawlessly written and performed.

As for the vocalists, everyone performs ably but favorites would be Ralf Scheepers’ typically soaring take on “The Hunter” and Fabio Lione’s powerful “Lord of War”. Plus, a special mention for Apollo Papathanasio and Elisa Martin pulling double duty on two songs each and crushing both of them.

Derdian fans will love this release as it provides a new take on some old favorites. Symphonic power metal fans that maybe aren’t familiar with the band can take this is as a great entry point to some awesome music. Everybody wins. Hopefully the band can find a new permanent vocalist and continue moving upward!


Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars, Firewind, etc.) – “Overture”, “Cage of Light”

Henning Basse (Firewind, Metalium) – “Burn”

GL Perotti (Allhelluja, Extrema) – “Beyond the Gate”

Davide Damna Moras (Elvenking) – “Battleplan”

D.C. Cooper (Royal Hunt) – “I Don’t Wanna Die”

Mark Basile (DGM) – “Screams of Agony”

Fabio Lione (Rhapsody of Fire, Angra) – “Lord of War”

Terence Holler (Eldritch) – “Forevermore”

Roberto Ramon Messina (Secret Sphere) – “Eternal Light”

Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear) – “The Hunter”

Andrea Bicego – “Black Rose”

Leo Figaro (Dragon Guardian) – “Incitement”

Elisa C. Martin (Hamka, Dark Moor, etc.) – “Forevermore”, “New Era”
Track Listing

1. Overture
2. Burn
3. Beyond the Gate
4. Battleplan
5. I Don’t Wanna Die
6. Screams of Agony
7. Lord of War (new song)
8. Forevermore
9. Eternal Light
10. The Hunter
11. Black Rose
12. Incitement
13. New Era
14. Cage of Light


Dario Radaelli: Guitar
Enrico Pistolese: Guitar, Backing Vocals
Marco Garau: Keyboards
Marco Banfi: Bass
Salvatore Giordano: Drums



Other reviews

» New Era Pt 2: War Of The Gods
by Anders Sandvall

» Human Reset
by Waspman

» Revolution Era
by Waspman

Next review: » Derek Sherinian - Black Utopia
Previous review: » Derdian - New Era Pt 2: War Of The Gods

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.