Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Til Death do us Part
March 2008
Released: 2008, Dockyard 1/Sound Pollution
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Stockholm-based Degradead is currently releasing their debut album. They have toured quite a lot in the Stockholm area and generated a pretty big fanbase. It all began when the band recorded their DEATH ROW demo which piqued the interest of the guys in In Flames, especially Jesper Strömblad. Jesper contacted Degradead and brought them to Gothenburg where they recorded their debut at In Flames’ own studio. Degradead plays melodic death metal that varies between death and thrash influences. The music has a modern feeling, but they don’t use any keyboards in their music. They instead rely on heavy layers of razor-sharp guitars along with blasting drum beats and furious bass lines. It’s all very technical and there’s no doubt that the band is very talented and skilled. Degradead’s music has a lot in common with In Flames, Dark Tranquility, Soilwork and Darkane. Lead singer Sehlin manages to sing both death metal and clean styles and he’s got a really dynamic vocal range.

Even though the main focus is on fast and furious music, the band slows it down on certain songs and they show a calmer and more sensitive side in the song “Til Death Do Us Apart”. It’s a slow and acoustical song that’s really beautiful. The rest of the ass-kicking material just blew me away when I first heard it and after several hours of listening to the disc I found myself liking it more and more. It was produced by a team called H.O.R.D.E along with Jesper Strömblad, Björn Gelotte and Daniel Svensson from In Flames, so their names alone almost guarantee high quality.

This is simply an excellent debut from a band that I’m sure will get far outside the Swedish borders in the future. Their music appeals both to the melodic death metal fans as well as the more thrashy fans. This can’t go wrong in any way. A tour with Dimension Zero is planned for this year which I think is really something to look forward to.
Track Listing

1. Genetic Waste
2. Take Control
3. Pass Away
4. Burned
5. Relations to the Humanity
6. The Bloodchain
7. The Fallen
8. Day of the Dead
9. Resemblance of the Past
10. Reborn
11. Til Death Do Us Apart


Mikael Sehlin – lead vocals
Anders Nyström – guitar
David Szucs – guitar
Michael Bärzén – bass
Kenneth Helgesson – drums

Next review: » Dehaven, Devin (Director) - Kiss Rocks Vegas (Film)
Previous review: » Degradead - A World Destroyer

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.