Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

November 2016
Released: 2016, Power Prog Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

The Danish Prog Power Metal scene is very strong and well respected. Bands like Anubis Gate, Beyond Twilight, Mercenary, Pyramze, Royal Hunt, Wuthering Heights, are leaders in this sub-genre and we can name a new band who have entered the field; Defecto. If I had to guess with a name like Defecto I would have guessed Spain or Portugal, but, no, this young quartet is from Copenhagen.

Defecto have released their debut album on Power Prog Records and it is simply entitled EXCLUDED with some symbolic cover-art to match. For those of you keeping track at home, I mentioned a piece of trivIa in my review of the new Evil Masquerade album (THE OUTCAST HALL OF FAME) back in August, namely that Nickl as Sonne is also the singer for Evil Masquerade is also the singer for Defecto. It is interesting because in Defecto he displays a far more broad range of singing styles and techniques including small injections of Death vocals. The rest of the band are relative newcomers to the international Metal Scene.

One component of this fine record that caught my ear immediately was lots and lots of guitar runs and fills. There are lots of great solos as well on every song, it is a very guitar driven band, more Metal than Prog to my ears. The songs are mostly in the three to four minute range, but the writing style is interesting, not conventional by any means. The songs are still memorable, not just exercises in strangeness, but certainly not simplistic in construction. For audio impact there are some hints of acoustic piano, keyboards but the band is not afraid to get quick like on the introductory segment of ‘Drifting Into Blackness’. Some of the gruffer vocals might turn off some fans, but it is not too overpowering. If I had to choose a familiar band I might say, Teodor Tuff, or Pagan’s Mind. The album proper ends on a strong note with a monster, epic ballad that runs seven minutes and containing a huge soaring chorus called ‘The Sands Of Time’. It has a huge dynamic feel and a swirling guitar and keyboard effect….and then suddenly shifts into a huge chunky grinder, a sonic shift that you might only experience on a Savatage album , before settling back into it’s original course.

I’m not at all surprised that Power Prog Records out of Germany discovered these guys and signed them on the strength of one demo. EXCLUDED is a very well done debut album and when you are making your personal ‘End-of-Year’ lists I hope this does not get excluded.
Track Listing

1. Excluded
2. When Daylight Dies
3. You Had It Coming
4. Drifting into Blackness
5. The Final Transition
6. Rage
7. Desperate Addict
8. Don't Loose Yourself
9. Into Oblivion
10. Sovereign
11. The Sands of Time
12. Rage (Live)


Nicklas Sonne Vocals, Guitar,
Frederik Duus Møller Guitar
Thomas Bartholin Bass
Henrik Been Drums, Keyboards



Other reviews

» Excluded
by JP

Next review: » Defender - City Ad Mortis
Previous review: » DEFEATED SANITY - Passages Into Deformity

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.