Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

July 2005
Released: 2005, Iron Fist Productions
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Good, bad, ugly and dirty sounding thrashing Heavy Metal ála the Swedish crazy noisemongers Deceiver on the plate next. Yes, they are here again amongst us – and another yes, the band has finally got their long awaited debut full-length album out, aptly titled RIDING WITH THE REAPER. Now talking about ´The Reaper´, the band´s ´little and ugly reaper´ is kind of present in each song on the album as far as certain primitive dirtiness music-wise is concerned - and when they have got as many as 10 new ugly reapers recorded for RIDING..., we talk about a quite ugly monster here, don´t we?!

Seriously (if such a word is even necessary here in Deceiver´s case, ha!), when the band released their self-titled 6-song mini-CD via the Swedish Iron Fist Productions, they surely left an indelible impression on me. Deceiver´s filthy, straight-forward thrashing Heavy Metal sounds a lot like they could record everything down just at one take, simply enjoying their energetic playing and not even trying to be worried whether they could sound one of those most polished and clear sounding Metal bands around these days. The band hasn´t changed a bit musically since the days of their self-titled mini-CD and the guys still deliver their goods in the spirit of Motörhead, old Destruction, older Sodom, oldest Venom and Impaled Nazarene –added with Destormo´s somewhat familiar vocal parts that have a relatively strong King Fowley-like vibe (yep, that crazy Deceased/October 31 –fame!) raging through the whole album.

Deceiver is a 100% pure bullet-proof Heavy Metal entertainment to the maximum at the filthiest form and only a few bands are capable of touching the same level musically nowadays the same way as these 4 Swedish are determined to rock you to Hell.

I don´t wanna say more... except the following: RAISE YOUR UGLY MARK OF THE DEVIL FOR DECEIVER... NOW ALL YOU MUTHAFUKKERS!!
Track Listing

01. Crown of Deceit
02. Raise Your Horns
03. Sinners Congregation
04. Riding with the Reaper
05. Slay the Rainbow
06. God of Dead
07. She – Ghost
08. Cover the Wounds
09. Mexican Thunder
10. Destroy ´em All


Destormo – Vocals
Pete Flesh – Guitarz
Crille Lundin - Bass
Magnus Flink - Drums

Other reviews

» S/T
by Luxi Lahtinen

by Luxi Lahtinen

» Thrashing Heavy Metal
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Thrashing Heavy Metal
by Mr. Rock

Next review: » Deceiver - S/T
Previous review: » Deceased - Worship the Coffin

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.