Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Blood Mantra
October 2014
Released: 2014, Nuclear Blast Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

As everybody knows Decapitated is one of the loveliest children of death metal and exponents of the technical part of that beloved extreme metal genre for many reasons. After several strikes of fate Decapitated are back with its sixth album, BLOOD MANTRA.

This album is a nodal as it will strengthen and consolidate the modern groovy side of Decapitated. Besides, it will test the fans’ responding to new musical direction.

Musically the band seemed to follow the modern steps of CARNIVAL IS FOREVER giving a sidelong glance at its glorious and scalped-edged musicianship of their first two albums under the direction of a modern sound and production. Even if we assume that CARNIVAL IS FOREVER album lost their footing and were found to be on track to more contemporary and modern trails in this year's album is not that long to spin pure death metal past, but looking to satisfy their fans. Their music continues to be characterized by a strong groove and a more modern sound and aesthetics. However, many death metal passes, the catchy riffs and luxuriant and trained and vocals create a highly attractive album, characterized techniques and highly crafted compositions, a perfect production, a voluminous full sound, intensity, energy and freshness. The blistering pace and good moments are too many here. And that’s good.

I don’t know if this is a good album by a musical point of view, but I do confess I liked it and got trapped in Decapitated musical mantra. Also, I would like to praise Kiełtyka for his exotic, head-spinning solos on “Nest”. Armed with their brute sonic artillery, it's certainly safe to say that 'In Shadows' is a beast made up of pulsating, neck-snapping, wonderment. Listen to “Veins”, “Instinct” and “Moth Defect” and you be totally aware of what I tell you all.
Track Listing

1. Exiled in Flesh
2. 'The Blasphemous Psalm to the Dummy God
3. Creation
4. Veins
5. Blood Mantra
6. Nest
7. Instinct
8. Blindness
9. Red Sun
10. Moth Defect"(digipak bonus track)


Wacław Kiełtyka – Guitar
Rafał Piotrowski – Vocals
Paweł Pasek – bass
Michał Łysejko – drums

Next review: » Decapitated - Carnival Is Forever
Previous review: » Decadence - Chargepoint

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.