Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

September 2005
Released: 2005, Lifeforce
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: MetalGeorge

Germany’s Lifeforce Records has become known for releasing some of the world’s best metalcore (Fear My Thoughts, Heaven Shall Burn), and can know lay claim to the pure fucking METAL throne as well, with the latest release from their countrymen in Deadlock.

With their intensely melodic and powerful Gothenburg influenced sound, Deadlock know how to create all of the emotionally powerful strains of the genre without resorting to cheap “breakdown” clichés like so many of their peers overseas. Rather, the band chooses to incorporate atmospheric synth and absolutely STUNNING female vocal accompaniment courtesy of a Ms. Weniger.

Nowhere is this put to better use than the out-fucking-standing anthem, “Awakened by Sirens”. Every time I hear this song, I get chills, so moving is Ms. Weniger’s performance. This isn’t to say that the band isn’t kicking some major ass of their own, as guitarists Sebastian Reichl and Gert Rymen trade off licks and riffs so fierce, you’d swear it was 1998, and you were hearing In Flames or Dark Tranquillity for the first time.

With a lyrical bent espousing their vegan/straightedge lifestyle and humanitarian ideals, Deadlock for sure aren’t your average bunch of metalheads, but vocalist Johannes Prem’s rasping, menacing tone should have fans of all walks of life screaming along to the band’s electric blend of Dimmu Borgir-esque atmosphere and Swe-death styled harmonies and guitar work (see the excellent, Soilwork-esque midpace of the title track).

Fans from both the metal and ‘core scenes are advised to take note, for Deadlock have crafted something special here. EARTH.REVOLT is an infectious listen, and is highly recommended…check it out!
Track Listing

1. Demonic (Tonus Diabolus)
2. 10,000 Generations in Blood
3. The Year of the Crow
4. Everlasting Pain
5. Earth.Revolt
6. More Tragedies to Come
7. Awakened By Sirens
8. Kingdom of the Dead
9. May Angels Come
10. Harmonic


Johannes Prem-vocals
Tobias Graf-drums
Thomas Huschka-bass
Sebastian Reichl-guitar
Gert Rymen-guitar

Other reviews

» Earth.Revolt
by MetalGeorge

» Manifesto
by Mr. Rock

» Bizarro World
by Robert Williams

Next review: » Deadlock - Manifesto
Previous review: » Deadlock - Bizarro World

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.