Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Bizarro World
March 2011
Released: 2011, Lifeforce Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

BIZARRO WORLD marks the fifth full length effort from German melo-deathsters Deadlock. BIZARRO WORLD is a concept album, centered around the "Bizarro" ideology of a "weirdly mutilated version of anything" as first introduced in the 1960's through DC Comics.

"Virus Jones" kicks off this conceptual affair with mid-tempo progressive palm muted riffing, before transitioning into a half-time romp accented by the serene female vocals of Ms. Sabine Weniger who offers up a total juxtaposition to the throaty shouts of vocalist Johannes Prem. Sabine, who started in Deadlock as a session member, today plays a much more prominent role in the band, as demonstrated on "State Of Decay" a track she leads alongside weirdo electronica noises. "Falling Skywards" abruptly begins with furious drumming and throaty screams, hitting head on come chorus time with Sabine's clean vocals. This is pretty strange stuff. Bizarre even.

The lead vocal trade offs continue on the balladesque "You Left Me Dead" and the amped up and aggressive "Brutal Romance" to mixed results. I think this formula works well on some songs, and takes the power out of the punch on others. I do give the band bonus points for not conforming to the Nightwish archetype of female fronted bands, instead opting for uncharted waters. Having said that, not too sure how often I'd care to take a dip in those waters.

The production on BIZARRO WORLD was handled by Deadlock guitarist Sebastian Reichl, who had the unenviable task of dealing with everything from guitar, bass and drums to synthesizers and multiple vocalists. The end result sounds slick enough and only time will tell if this type of stuff will catch on with the rest of the world. I gotta say, it kind of left me scratching my head.
Track Listing

1. Virus Jones
2. State Of Decay
3. Falling Skywards
4. Earthlings
5. You Left Me Dead
6. Brutal Romance
7. Alienation
8. Renegade
9. Htrae
10. Bizarro World
11. Paranoia Extravaganza


Johannes Prem - Vocals
Sabine Weniger - Vocals, Keyboards
Sebastian Reichl - Guitars, Keyboards
Gert Rymen - Guitars
John Gahlert - Bass
Tobias Graf - Drums

Other reviews

» Earth.Revolt
by MetalGeorge

» Manifesto
by Mr. Rock

» Bizarro World
by Robert Williams

Next review: » Deadlock - Earth.Revolt
Previous review: » Deadhead - HAATLAND

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.