Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

February 2008
Released: 2007, Independent
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Simon Lukic

Featuring former Dio guitarist Rowan Robertson alongside brothers Jeff Duncan (Armored Saint, Odin) on lead vocals and guitar, Shawn Duncan (Odin) on drums and Matt Duncan on bass, DC4 is certainty an experienced combo and that shows on EXPLODE, the follow up to the EP MOOD SWINGS.

Having never heard any of the unit’s music I have to say that I wasn’t sure what to expect. Song titles such as “Rock & Roll Disease”, “This Is What You Wanted” and “Candy Caine” gave away a few clues that EXPLODE would lean more towards Hard Rock than Metal and one listen proved that the assumption was fairly correct. What’s most surprising is that Jeff Duncan’s vocals resemble his band mate in Armored Saint to a tee and there were times that I could have sworn that it was John Bush on more than one occasion. The similarities don’t end there with EXPLODE sounding a touch like REVELATION, the album Armored Saint released in 2000. Considering that Joey Vera helped record and mix the CD and that Jeff played on the album is probably a good reason why.

Anyway, EXPLODE gets to rocking start with the title track, a tight well paced number that showcases the talent in the band. Elsewhere “God Complex”, “Cabin Fever” and “Experiment” maintain the quality and good vibes however the album does dip in places. Cuts like “Disturbed” and “Hate Parade” are rather derivative and a little too simple if that makes sense? There is a hell of a lot of talent in DC4 and there are times on EXPLODE when you feel as if the band are holding a little back which is a shame and a little disappointing.

So will DC4 make a major impact on the scene? I doubt it. But with that said, it’s a fun record and something you can enjoy with a few beers. EXPLODE sounds like an excuse for four guys to get together, crank out some tunes and continue their love of music. If that’s the case then that’s as good a reason as any for DC4 to exist.
Track Listing

01. Explode
02. Rock & Roll Disease
03. Long Hard Road
04. Experiment
05. Cabin Fever
06. This Is What You Wanted
07. Hate Parade
08. God Complex
09. Candy Caine
10. Disturbed


Jeff Duncan – guitars & vocals
Rowan Robertson - guitars
Matt Duncan - bass
Shawn Duncan - drums

Other reviews

by Simon Lukic

Next review: » De Arma - Lost, Alien and Forloin
Previous review: » Dødsengel - Interequinox

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.