Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Dark Tranquillity
We Are The Void
April 2010
Released: 2010, Century Media
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Well, here we are eight years after Dark Tranquillity reinvented themselves with the universally loved DAMAGE DONE album. After the experimentation of PROJECTOR and HAVEN, DD was welcomed as a major return to form. The two albums since then were more a refining of the formula of DD than any great leaps forward but, especially 2007’s FICTION, ruled my world. Yes, the band has many detractors, but all bands of a certain level do. For me, any new music from these Swedes is cause for celebration, so let’s dig into WE ARE THE VOID (WATV) and see what they’ve come up with this time.

Well one listen to WATV shows that it’s obvious that at this point in their career DT are not going to make any significant changes to their sound. So let’s get it out of the way immediately: WATV is an exact continuation of the sound the band hit upon with DAMAGE DONE. That said, the music still kicks ass. Let’s face it, like them or no, DT know how to write great songs. From the aggression of “Shadow in our Blood” and “I Am the Void” to the more atmospheric musings of “Iridium” and “Dream Oblivion”, the whole gamut of the DT sound is covered. I have to admit that it is a little disappointing that there are no new tricks to discover; the band doesn’t exactly stretch their abilities here. Still, when the music continues to be of such high quality, and simply enjoyable, you can’t complain too much. There are no immediate classics like FICTION’s “Inside the Particle Storm”, but every single song is solid.

Honestly, if you didn’t like DT before, or were getting tired of their particular musical formula, WE ARE THE VOID will not change your mind. But if you’re like me and basically love everything this band does, or have at least enjoyed their recent output, you can chalk this album up as another winner.
Track Listing

1) Shadow in our Blood
2) Dream Oblivion
3) The Fatalist
4) In My Absence
5) The Grandest Accusation
6) At the Point of Ignition
7) Her Silent Language
8) Arkhangelsk
9) I Am the Void
10) Surface the Infinite
11) Iridium
12) Star of Nothingness (Bonus)
13) To Where Fires Cannot Feed (Bonus)


Mikael Stanne: Vocals
Niklas Sundin: Guitar
Martin Henriksson: Guitar
Daniel Antonsson: Bass
Martin Brandstrom: Keyboards
Anders Jivarp: Drums

Next review: » Darkane - Demonic Art
Previous review: » Dark Tranquillity - The Mind’s I

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.